I propose that you get the full post editor when editing drafts as currently all it gives you is a text box to edit drafts but as it is a full post it should have the full editor.
Drafts are quite often used for longer posts that you might work on, on a few times until your done (post it) so it shouldn't be expected that they will always be using the load draft button.
I also propose that after loading a draft and then re-pressing save draft it should edit the previous draft, not create a second draft.
Thoughts?
Draft Editing/Loading Changes
Draft Editing/Loading Changes
Formerly known as Unknown Bliss
No unsolicited PMs please except for quotes.psoTFX wrote: I went with Olympus because as I said to the teams ... "It's been one hell of a hill to climb"
- imkingdavid
- Registered User
- Posts: 1050
- Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 12:06 pm
Re: Draft Editing/Loading Changes
I can agree to this. It would probably be best to just make posting_editor.html work in the drafts screen instead of recreating it there.MichaelC wrote:I propose that you get the full post editor when editing drafts as currently all it gives you is a text box to edit drafts but as it is a full post it should have the full editor.
Drafts are quite often used for longer posts that you might work on, on a few times until your done (post it) so it shouldn't be expected that they will always be using the load draft button.
What we could do I suppose is add a new hidden field like "loaded_draft_id" which, if present, is used when the Save draft button is pressed.I also propose that after loading a draft and then re-pressing save draft it should edit the previous draft, not create a second draft.
Thoughts?
Re: Draft Editing/Loading Changes
That was what i was expecting.imkingdavid wrote:I can agree to this. It would probably be best to just make posting_editor.html work in the drafts screen instead of recreating it there.MichaelC wrote:I propose that you get the full post editor when editing drafts as currently all it gives you is a text box to edit drafts but as it is a full post it should have the full editor.
Drafts are quite often used for longer posts that you might work on, on a few times until your done (post it) so it shouldn't be expected that they will always be using the load draft button.
This is already done (the former part) as when you submit the post after loading then it deleted the draft so shouldn't be hard to do.imkingdavid wrote:What we could do I suppose is add a new hidden field like "loaded_draft_id" which, if present, is used when the Save draft button is pressed.I also propose that after loading a draft and then re-pressing save draft it should edit the previous draft, not create a second draft.
Thoughts?
Formerly known as Unknown Bliss
No unsolicited PMs please except for quotes.psoTFX wrote: I went with Olympus because as I said to the teams ... "It's been one hell of a hill to climb"
-
- Registered User
- Posts: 523
- Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 10:29 pm
- Contact:
Re: Draft Editing/Loading Changes
+1.
Always wondered why it wasn't like that.
Always wondered why it wasn't like that.
- DionDesigns
- Registered User
- Posts: 51
- Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 4:29 am
- Location: Uncertain due to momentum
- Contact:
Re: Draft Editing/Loading Changes
You already get the full post editor for drafts. The only reason the buttons/smileys aren't being displayed is because
Add:
And you'll now have the smileys and editor buttons available for editing drafts.
posting_editor.html
and posting_buttons.html
have some conditionals which aren't defined in ucp_main.php
. Here's what is needed. Just above these lines:Code: Select all
// Set desired template
$this->tpl_name = 'ucp_main_' . $mode;
Code: Select all
if (isset($edit))
{
include($phpbb_root_path . 'includes/functions_posting.' . $phpEx);
generate_smilies('inline', $draft['forum_id']);
$bbcode_status = ($config['allow_bbcode'] && $auth->acl_get('f_bbcode', $draft['forum_id'])) ? true : false;
$smilies_status = ($config['allow_smilies'] && $auth->acl_get('f_smilies', $draft['forum_id'])) ? true : false;
$img_status = ($bbcode_status && $auth->acl_get('f_img', $draft['forum_id'])) ? true : false;
$url_status = ($config['allow_post_links']) ? true : false;
$flash_status = ($bbcode_status && $auth->acl_get('f_flash', $draft['forum_id']) && $config['allow_post_flash']) ? true : false;
$template->assign_vars(array(
'S_BBCODE_ALLOWED' => $bbcode_status,
'S_SMILIES_ALLOWED' => $smilies_status,
'S_LINKS_ALLOWED' => $url_status,
'S_BBCODE_IMG' => $img_status,
'S_BBCODE_URL' => $url_status,
'S_BBCODE_FLASH' => $flash_status,
'S_BBCODE_QUOTE' => true,
'BBCODE_STATUS' => ($bbcode_status) ? sprintf($user->lang['BBCODE_IS_ON'], '<a href="' . append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}faq.$phpEx", 'mode=bbcode') . '">', '</a>') : sprintf($user->lang['BBCODE_IS_OFF'], '<a href="' . append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}faq.$phpEx", 'mode=bbcode') . '">', '</a>'),
'IMG_STATUS' => ($img_status) ? $user->lang['IMAGES_ARE_ON'] : $user->lang['IMAGES_ARE_OFF'],
'FLASH_STATUS' => ($flash_status) ? $user->lang['FLASH_IS_ON'] : $user->lang['FLASH_IS_OFF'],
'SMILIES_STATUS' => ($smilies_status) ? $user->lang['SMILIES_ARE_ON'] : $user->lang['SMILIES_ARE_OFF'],
'URL_STATUS' => ($bbcode_status && $url_status) ? $user->lang['URL_IS_ON'] : $user->lang['URL_IS_OFF'],
));
}