You could rowspan all the common ones, but it'll still get pretty messy quite quickly though.protoTech wrote:It's unlikely that the layout would break as the text will simply wrap. It's the amount of unnecessary space that it takes up. Case in point (not including private forums, which would make the column even bigger):Highway of Life wrote:You could have a veeeery long list of forums for large boards, so I think it would still break the layout. But you could solve this issue with a jQuery tooltip box.
[RFC|Merged] Enhanced Team Page
Re: The team page
- EXreaction
- Registered User
- Posts: 1555
- Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:15 am
Re: The team page
I think that might be a bit overkill. Moving up/down on the display order of groups I could see (could be used for the legend as well), but letting them control exactly where each user will appear is too much I think.bantu wrote:How about this from a functional point of view:
a) In the ACP groups can be marked as "Show on team page".
b) In the ACP we provide a backend to manage the team page. The page lists all the groups that have the "Show on team page" flag enabled. It is possible to move groups up and down in the hierarchy and it is possible to add spacers (to separate the administrators from moderators in the template for example).
From the development perspective this can probably be archived by using a single integer column in the forums table.
We have to think about what happens if a user is in multiple groups. It should probably be selectable if the users should show in all groups or only in the highest in the hierarchy.
I don't think we should list the forums without using a selection box. It's simply a huge unreadable block of text.
- Highway of Life
- Registered User
- Posts: 1399
- Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 10:18 pm
- Location: I'd love to change the World, but they won't give me the Source Code
- Contact:
Re: The team page
Indeed, unless we change it in other places, the forumlist such as the jumpbox is also displayed in a drop-down... that might be the most efficient method without jQuery.
- bantu
- 3.0 Release Manager
- Posts: 557
- Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:22 am
- Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
- Contact:
Re: The team page
Errm. I was not talking about every single user; just the groups. So you can adjust the group order to what you want.EXreaction wrote:I think that might be a bit overkill. Moving up/down on the display order of groups I could see (could be used for the legend as well), but letting them control exactly where each user will appear is too much I think.
Example A
Administrators
Moderators
< Spacer >
Contributors
Example B
Administrators
< Spacer >
Contributors
Moderators
I also made a typo, it should work with an integer column in the groups table, not forums table.
- nickvergessen
- Former Team Member
- Posts: 733
- Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 11:54 am
- Location: Stuttgart, Germany
- Contact:
Re: The team page
I'd like bantu's suggestion. For the "Display user in multiple groups" I'd add a simple bool-config.
I think that would be not to hard to write and have lot more functionality than the current thing.
I think that would be not to hard to write and have lot more functionality than the current thing.
Member of the Development-Team — No Support via PM
- imkingdavid
- Registered User
- Posts: 1050
- Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 12:06 pm
Re: The team page
I agree with bantu's idea of implementation as well. @EXreaction: I think that the more options for customization, the better. "Overkill" is a matter of opinion, and things can be added into an "advanced" options box that contains generally used defaults automatically set if the admin doesn't want to change them. Yes, it may mean a little more work on the development side, but it allows admins to have things show exactly how they want it to.
- nickvergessen
- Former Team Member
- Posts: 733
- Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 11:54 am
- Location: Stuttgart, Germany
- Contact:
Re: The team page
I made some code changes, to view the users by groups.
There's a little problem here, we either can not display the forums (than we need to display some other information), the user has m_ permissions, or we still need the expensive query, we just have a $user_ids array to help this time, but I guess that is still kind of expensive?naderman wrote:I think this makes a lot more sense than the current solution and should als peform a lot better. We've had problems with query performance on the team page quite a few times. If you could create a ticket on the tracker and submit an actual patch (for adding the acp option etc.) either on github or in text form that'd be great!
Member of the Development-Team — No Support via PM
- nickvergessen
- Former Team Member
- Posts: 733
- Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 11:54 am
- Location: Stuttgart, Germany
- Contact:
Re: The team page
I introduced two configs now.
http://github.com/nickvergessen/phpbb3/ ... icket;9549
Integration into the ACP is going to come soon.
- Allowing the mulitple/single appearance of users, as per bantu's post:
bantu wrote:We have to think about what happens if a user is in multiple groups. It should probably be selectable if the users should show in all groups or only in the highest in the hierarchy.
- Allowing to view the forums, in which the user is a moderator. So Big-Boards can easily disable this and save the 4 heavy queries.
http://github.com/nickvergessen/phpbb3/ ... icket;9549
Integration into the ACP is going to come soon.
Member of the Development-Team — No Support via PM
- nickvergessen
- Former Team Member
- Posts: 733
- Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 11:54 am
- Location: Stuttgart, Germany
- Contact:
Re: The team page
Should be ready for testing now.
Member of the Development-Team — No Support via PM
- bantu
- 3.0 Release Manager
- Posts: 557
- Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:22 am
- Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
- Contact:
Re: The team page
I had a look at the code and have some comments.
Other than that, it looks good. At least code wise. Haven't looked at functionality yet.
- The huge switch block should probably be devided into separate functions (lesson learned from 3.0.x).
Most of those functions/methods will only take the group_id as a parameter anyway. - functions/methods should use the function/method keywords (public, private, protected, static).
- functions/methods should have proper documentation about the arguments they take and return
- Queries using the primary key do not need sql_query_limit(). There is only one row for what you're looking for anyway.
- Some queries can probably be joined together. For 'add' it could probably be or something like that. This way we should be protected from any race conditions there.
Code: Select all
UPDATE phpbb_groups SET group_teampage = MAX(group_teampage) + 1 WHERE group_id = $var GROUP BY group_id
- This code block appears four times.
Code: Select all
$sql = 'SELECT group_teampage FROM ' . GROUPS_TABLE . ' WHERE group_id = ' . $group_id; $result = $db->sql_query_limit($sql, 1); $current_teampage = (int) $db->sql_fetchfield('group_teampage'); $db->sql_freeresult($result);
- If 0 in "SET group_teampage = 0" is something special it should probably be a (class) constant.
- There should be some documentation about how the integer field is organised.
Other than that, it looks good. At least code wise. Haven't looked at functionality yet.