Language specific options
Forum rules
Discuss features as they are added to the new version. Give us your feedback. Don't post bug reports, feature requests, support questions or suggestions here. Feature requests are closed.
Discuss features as they are added to the new version. Give us your feedback. Don't post bug reports, feature requests, support questions or suggestions here. Feature requests are closed.
-
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 7:08 am
Language specific options
When we set up forum ,The Language specific options appare like Custom profile fields.
So that ,When usrer choose forum language,the name of forum can be choosed either.For example :myspace forum has
this features.
My forum set up with 2 language English &Chinese.URL http://www.textilebbs.com/index.php
So that ,When usrer choose forum language,the name of forum can be choosed either.For example :myspace forum has
this features.
My forum set up with 2 language English &Chinese.URL http://www.textilebbs.com/index.php
- Highway of Life
- Registered User
- Posts: 1399
- Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 10:18 pm
- Location: I'd love to change the World, but they won't give me the Source Code
- Contact:
Re: Language specific options
I believe the point is to have the site name be configurable per language setting.
The "simple" way to implement this would be to put the site name in one of the the language files
\language\en\common.php
'SITE_NAME' => 'My Cool Bulletin board',
or
\language\de\common.php
'SITE_NAME' => 'Mein kühles Anschlagbrett',
or
\language\it\common.php
'SITE_NAME' => 'Il mio albo freddo',
With the appropriate one selected depending on your users language setting. There are a ton of boards out there that support multiple languages simultaneously.
Edit: Apologies for mechanical translation, but you get the point
The "simple" way to implement this would be to put the site name in one of the the language files
\language\en\common.php
'SITE_NAME' => 'My Cool Bulletin board',
or
\language\de\common.php
'SITE_NAME' => 'Mein kühles Anschlagbrett',
or
\language\it\common.php
'SITE_NAME' => 'Il mio albo freddo',
With the appropriate one selected depending on your users language setting. There are a ton of boards out there that support multiple languages simultaneously.
Edit: Apologies for mechanical translation, but you get the point
Am I?
- Highway of Life
- Registered User
- Posts: 1399
- Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 10:18 pm
- Location: I'd love to change the World, but they won't give me the Source Code
- Contact:
Re: Language specific options
Oh, is that all?
Yes, you could just put them in the language common.php file as you said, but you’d want to do the site description as well:
And then in includes/functions.php ... FIND
REPLACE, WITH:
Yes, you could just put them in the language common.php file as you said, but you’d want to do the site description as well:
Code: Select all
'SITE_NAME' => 'My Site name',
'SITE_DESC' => 'My site description',
Code: Select all
'SITENAME' => $config['sitename'],
'SITE_DESCRIPTION' => $config['site_desc'],
Code: Select all
'SITENAME' => $user->lang['SITE_NAME'],
'SITE_DESCRIPTION' => $user->lang['SITE_DESC'],
-
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 7:08 am
Re: Language specific options
ringht!Freitag wrote:I believe the point is to have the site name be configurable per language setting.
The "simple" way to implement this would be to put the site name in one of the the language files
\language\en\common.php
'SITE_NAME' => 'My Cool Bulletin board',
or
\language\de\common.php
'SITE_NAME' => 'Mein kühles Anschlagbrett',
or
\language\it\common.php
'SITE_NAME' => 'Il mio albo freddo',
With the appropriate one selected depending on your users language setting. There are a ton of boards out there that support multiple languages simultaneously.
Edit: Apologies for mechanical translation, but you get the point
but not eactly!
For This site an example : [3.x/Olympus] Discussion,
I want change [3.x/Olympus] Discussion into mutl-language ,when the board language was be changed.
-
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 7:08 am
Re: Language specific options
Not only this,but also"[3.x/Olympus] Styling" &"EasyMOD for 2.0.x" all this board nameHighway of Life wrote:Oh, is that all?![]()
Yes, you could just put them in the language common.php file as you said, but you’d want to do the site description as well:And then in includes/functions.php ... FINDCode: Select all
'SITE_NAME' => 'My Site name', 'SITE_DESC' => 'My site description',
REPLACE, WITH:Code: Select all
'SITENAME' => $config['sitename'], 'SITE_DESCRIPTION' => $config['site_desc'],
Code: Select all
'SITENAME' => $user->lang['SITE_NAME'], 'SITE_DESCRIPTION' => $user->lang['SITE_DESC'],
-
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 7:08 am
Re: Language specific options
Does the team have understand what I said ,& going to add this new feature in the following version?

Re: Language specific options
Oh, I see you also want a language translation for forum names too.
That is trickier. I did leave out some details in my earlier reply, but this is a different animal.
My earlier solution is not what you want.
For programmatic languages there are the various language files, but you are wanting language options for user (or at least admin) generated content.
I think there are a couple of ways to implement something like this. The one that comes to mind first woudl be to have a database version of what is implemented with the file structure.
You would need a table that had (at least) 3 columns. There would be a column to indicate language. A column that was some sort of key to identify which string you were representing, and then a column of text.
Then in every place that you have the chance as an administrator to enter text, you'd need a drop down to select language so that you could place text for all entries.
You'd need a main language page also to let you add/remove/enable/disable languages from your list.
I guess you could place a side by side list of all entered text on that admin page so you could edit all the strings in one place if you wanted to add a new language after the fact (instead of hunting and pecking through every menu trying to find the blanks and fill them in)
And then every page that displays text from the database would instead of pulling the single entry as it does now, would perform a lookup in the language table for the current language version of that text string.
That is a pretty major change to the basic architecture.
I'm not sure this would work well as a MOD, but it might.
Would you want each user to set a language for their posting and have some mechanical translation of the post into other languages too?
Or you could allow each user to pick the language as normal and use something like this for the rest of the text. Perhaps less than perfect.
-- 星期五
That is trickier. I did leave out some details in my earlier reply, but this is a different animal.
My earlier solution is not what you want.
For programmatic languages there are the various language files, but you are wanting language options for user (or at least admin) generated content.
I think there are a couple of ways to implement something like this. The one that comes to mind first woudl be to have a database version of what is implemented with the file structure.
You would need a table that had (at least) 3 columns. There would be a column to indicate language. A column that was some sort of key to identify which string you were representing, and then a column of text.
Then in every place that you have the chance as an administrator to enter text, you'd need a drop down to select language so that you could place text for all entries.
You'd need a main language page also to let you add/remove/enable/disable languages from your list.
I guess you could place a side by side list of all entered text on that admin page so you could edit all the strings in one place if you wanted to add a new language after the fact (instead of hunting and pecking through every menu trying to find the blanks and fill them in)
And then every page that displays text from the database would instead of pulling the single entry as it does now, would perform a lookup in the language table for the current language version of that text string.
That is a pretty major change to the basic architecture.
I'm not sure this would work well as a MOD, but it might.
Would you want each user to set a language for their posting and have some mechanical translation of the post into other languages too?
Or you could allow each user to pick the language as normal and use something like this for the rest of the text. Perhaps less than perfect.
-- 星期五
Am I?
-
- Posts: 69
- Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 7:08 am
- stickerboy
- Registered User
- Posts: 94
- Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 3:05 pm
- Location: Scotland
- Contact:
Re: Language specific options
Your best bet would be to post in the MOD Requests forum over at phpBB.com.
Area51 isn't the place to be asking for MODs or feature requests
Area51 isn't the place to be asking for MODs or feature requests
I'm a web-designing code-decrypting tech-support musician
|| Twitter || Flickr || phpBB Snippets ||
Formerly known as cherokee red
|| Twitter || Flickr || phpBB Snippets ||
Formerly known as cherokee red