How do I edit SQL tables?
How do I edit SQL tables?
I have a mod I tried to install that easymod did install, but it said some error about not doing the SQL changes. And, without that, the mod isn't working. How can I go in and make those changes? Can anyone help?
Heather
-
- Registered User
- Posts: 7219
- Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 8:54 pm
- Location: Florida, US
- Contact:
Re: How do I edit SQL tables?
phpMyAdmin - Manually Applying SQL Code
The following is how you apply your SQL code manually to your phpMyAdmin database. You can get into your database through your CPanel by clicking on phpMyAdmin. Follow the following instructions:
I'm sure that every host is different. I will tell you how I run my queries manually and hopefully it will be close to what you have available to you. The following may or may not be similar to what you have...
Log into your domain Control Panel and find the database icons. You should be able to find the phpMyAdmin icon. Click on it...
Hopefully that will log you into your phpAdmin panel. You may need to provide a username and password...
In the phpMyAdmin panel, click on the Databases hyperlink...
Hopefully that should take you where you can select your database. You may only have one. Select your database hyperlink...
That should open up the display of all the tables in your database. Ignore them. Somewhere on the page, you should see something similar to this:
Click on the SQL tab to display something like the following where you can copy all of the SQL commands in at once:
Click on the Go button and the queries will be run. If all goes well, you will be told that the commands were executed successfully. Otherwise you will see a screen that tells you which command failed. If the columns that you are trying to add already exist, a duplicate will not be added...
Hopefully my instructions above are close to what you would see on your domain. If not, perhaps you could provide some screenshots of what you have available and we can figure out what you need to do. I use Gadwin Printscreen to create the screenshots and www.ImageShack.us to host them so they can be posted here...
The following is how you apply your SQL code manually to your phpMyAdmin database. You can get into your database through your CPanel by clicking on phpMyAdmin. Follow the following instructions:
I'm sure that every host is different. I will tell you how I run my queries manually and hopefully it will be close to what you have available to you. The following may or may not be similar to what you have...
Log into your domain Control Panel and find the database icons. You should be able to find the phpMyAdmin icon. Click on it...
Hopefully that will log you into your phpAdmin panel. You may need to provide a username and password...
In the phpMyAdmin panel, click on the Databases hyperlink...
Hopefully that should take you where you can select your database. You may only have one. Select your database hyperlink...
That should open up the display of all the tables in your database. Ignore them. Somewhere on the page, you should see something similar to this:
Click on the SQL tab to display something like the following where you can copy all of the SQL commands in at once:
Click on the Go button and the queries will be run. If all goes well, you will be told that the commands were executed successfully. Otherwise you will see a screen that tells you which command failed. If the columns that you are trying to add already exist, a duplicate will not be added...
Hopefully my instructions above are close to what you would see on your domain. If not, perhaps you could provide some screenshots of what you have available and we can figure out what you need to do. I use Gadwin Printscreen to create the screenshots and www.ImageShack.us to host them so they can be posted here...
Re: How do I edit SQL tables?
I'm sorry I didn't respond before now. I didn't get an e-mail so I thought no one replied! Anyway, thank you so much. That helps tremendously. Unfortunately, I still have my problem, but I think I'm on the right track. Now to check the mod and see if I can find what the problem is .... again, thanks!
Heather
-
- Registered User
- Posts: 7219
- Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 8:54 pm
- Location: Florida, US
- Contact:
Re: How do I edit SQL tables?
You don't have to apologize. I'm more concerned about resolving your problem and we can do that on your schedule, not mine...
So what is your current error? Perhaps that would give us a clue of what to try to fix it...
So what is your current error? Perhaps that would give us a clue of what to try to fix it...
Re: How do I edit SQL tables?
I suppose I should tell you what I'm trying to install first. It's this:
I tried to manually fix it and now I have no idea what I did. I was close, but not there. and somehow I messed it up. Here's the latest error I'm getting:
Advanced Vote Manager 1.0.2 vote_manage.1.0.2.mod
I tried to manually fix it and now I have no idea what I did. I was close, but not there. and somehow I messed it up. Here's the latest error I'm getting:
General Error
Could not obtain vote data for this topic
DEBUG MODE
SQL Error : 1064 You have an error in your SQL syntax. Check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'DESC, vr.vote_option_id, vr.vote_option_text, vr.vote_result
SELECT vd.vote_id, vd.vote_text, vd.vote_start, vd.vote_length, vd.vote_max, vd.vote_voted, vd.vote_hide, vd.vote_undo, vr.vote_result DESC, vr.vote_option_id, vr.vote_option_text, vr.vote_result FROM phpbb_vote_desc vd, phpbb_vote_results vr WHERE vd.topic_id = 50 AND vr.vote_id = vd.vote_id ORDER BY vr.vote_result DESC,vr.vote_option_id ASC
Line : 690
File : viewtopic.php
Heather
-
- Registered User
- Posts: 7219
- Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 8:54 pm
- Location: Florida, US
- Contact:
Re: How do I edit SQL tables?
Yes, I see why there is an error. Could you provide a link to the MOD download and a text link to the viewtopic.php file???
Creating text Links for phpBB files
First create a duplicate of the phpBB file on your PC, then rename the file by adding .txt to the end of the file name. Next upload the file to a location on your FTP Server accessible to the public and provide a link back here for us to analyze it...
The path to your file could look something like this now:
Creating text Links for phpBB files
First create a duplicate of the phpBB file on your PC, then rename the file by adding .txt to the end of the file name. Next upload the file to a location on your FTP Server accessible to the public and provide a link back here for us to analyze it...
The path to your file could look something like this now:
Code: Select all
http://yourdomain.com/downloads_folder/viewtopic.php.txt
Re: How do I edit SQL tables?
OK. I believe this is where I got the Mod:
http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=389862
Oh, and for what it's worth, I did initially use EasyMod to install it. And, at first, it was working. I'm not sure what I did to mess it up ...
I'll BRB with the viewtopic.php file.
http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=389862
Oh, and for what it's worth, I did initially use EasyMod to install it. And, at first, it was working. I'm not sure what I did to mess it up ...
I'll BRB with the viewtopic.php file.
Heather
Re: How do I edit SQL tables?
I'm not entirely sure how to go about making the file so you can access it. But, here's where it is:
ftp://frogsgroup.com/downloads_folder/viewtopic.php.txt" target="_blank
How do I get it so you can see it?
ftp://frogsgroup.com/downloads_folder/viewtopic.php.txt" target="_blank
How do I get it so you can see it?
Heather
-
- Registered User
- Posts: 7219
- Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 8:54 pm
- Location: Florida, US
- Contact:
Re: How do I edit SQL tables?
Ok, the link to your viewtopic.php.txt requires a username and password, which obviously I don't have. I successfully downloaded the Vote Manage MOD...
I can also see where you made your mistake when you manually modified the viewtopic.php file. I can tell you how to correct it when I see a text link that I can download to the file...
If you made this kind of mistake when manually installing the MOD, I highly recommend that you restore your backups and use EM. It is possible that you repeated the IN-LINE error in several phpBB files...
If you could use EM, I could walk you through any conflicts that you might encounter...
I can also see where you made your mistake when you manually modified the viewtopic.php file. I can tell you how to correct it when I see a text link that I can download to the file...
If you made this kind of mistake when manually installing the MOD, I highly recommend that you restore your backups and use EM. It is possible that you repeated the IN-LINE error in several phpBB files...
If you could use EM, I could walk you through any conflicts that you might encounter...
Re: How do I edit SQL tables?
Well, I already used EM. Is there a way to make it so I can use EM again?
Heather