using Smarty ?

Discussion of general topics related to the new version and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Forum rules
Discussion of general topics related to the new release and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Tomba
Registered User
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2003 1:59 pm

using Smarty ?

Post by Tomba »

hi people and developers of phpBB

I was wondering if there have been thoughts about using Smarty template engine to parse the template files. I think it may be a good solution for all of us, as phpBB developers may then have more time to implement other things.

On the other hand, including phpBB into a site would also be easier if this site started using smarty. It would make a better united application, instead of the ports and pseudo-CMS systems I have seen built around phpBB

Any ideas on this?
alcaeus
Registered User
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 3:21 am
Location: Munich (Germany)
Contact:

Re: using Smarty ?

Post by alcaeus »

psoTFX said it once: he doesn't want to use Smarty. Just look for his post, it's somewhere in here: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=12672" target="_blank

Greetz
alcaeus
Sphen
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed May 19, 2004 5:28 pm
Location: Land of the Beaver
Contact:

Re: using Smarty ?

Post by Sphen »

Hi,

phpBB is using a custom built templating engine built by former team member Nathan Codding. It uses a lot of elements of Smarty. phpBB probably wouldn't switch to Smarty because it is a lot of work to change all the code, and they already have a system in place that works. As for the CMS issue, there was a phpBB Portal project in the works, although it is on hold right now. I hope this helps :D

Sphen

EDIT:

This is the post that was pointed to earlier.
I think, therefore I am, I think...
I refuse to have a battle of wits with someone who is unarmed.
Site - Blog
dmaj007
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 9:31 pm

Re: using Smarty ?

Post by dmaj007 »

It would not be too hard to change to Smarty, you would not get too many benifits from it though. phpBB's template engine is not based on Smarty, it uses a small amount of code for tokenizing things inside of conditionals inside of a template. Nathan Coding did not all of a sudden just say, "OMG!! TEMPLATE ENGINE!!111". It was based off of PHPLib's... However, paul rewrote just about everything inside of it and now.. well.. thats all..
Sphen
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed May 19, 2004 5:28 pm
Location: Land of the Beaver
Contact:

Re: using Smarty ?

Post by Sphen »

It was my impression that Nathan Codding took elements from several templating engines and combined them with a lot of his own ideas. You are correct about Paul recoding a lot of it though. :D

Sphen
I think, therefore I am, I think...
I refuse to have a battle of wits with someone who is unarmed.
Site - Blog
User avatar
niekas
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2001 7:34 am

Re: using Smarty ?

Post by niekas »

I agree - it would be wonderful if phpbb switched to smarty.
Roberdin
Registered User
Posts: 1546
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 8:44 pm
Location: London, United Kingdom

Re: using Smarty ?

Post by Roberdin »

Why?

The phpBB templating engine has been designed to be quick and has been optimised with other parts of the phpBB architecture. What will Smarty allow you to do differently for all that extra load?
Rob
ElizabeththeGrey
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 10:55 pm

Re: using Smarty ?

Post by ElizabeththeGrey »

Integrate directly into the site I'm already developing using Smarty, using only one template engine.
Sphen
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed May 19, 2004 5:28 pm
Location: Land of the Beaver
Contact:

Re: using Smarty ?

Post by Sphen »

Unfortunately, there aren't enough people using Smarty to justify a engine change. The developers would have to rewrite large parts of the code to allow this to happen, and it wouldn't be worthwhile for them to do it.

Sphen
I think, therefore I am, I think...
I refuse to have a battle of wits with someone who is unarmed.
Site - Blog
DemonBob
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 4:33 pm

Re: using Smarty ?

Post by DemonBob »

Do you know is 3.0 is going to allow porting the template engine, and using it for the rest of the site? would it be as simple as a class call?
Post Reply