phpBB performance optimization by preloading all javascript and stylesheets

Discuss general development subjects that are not specific to a particular version like the versioning control system we use or other infrastructure.
perabjoth

phpBB performance optimization by preloading all javascript and stylesheets

Post by perabjoth »

I've been setting up a phpBB forum and am a complete noob (to php and phpBB and everything related) but I was looking to speed up load times by eliminating render blocking resources.

I did so by adding

Code: Select all

rel="preload" as="style" onload="this.rel = 'stylesheet'"
on all the stylesheets being loaded in the overall_header.html file for the theme used by the forum.

However, I noticed that there were some other local resources that were still being loaded regularly. I was able to narrow it down to the assets_bag.php file and made the following changes:

Code: Select all

/**
	 * Returns the HTML code to includes all css assets
	 * @return string
	 */
	public function get_stylesheets_content()
	{
		$output = '';
		foreach ($this->stylesheets as $stylesheet)
		{
			$output .= "<link href=\"{$stylesheet->get_url()}\" rel=\"preload\" as=\"style\" onload=\"this.rel='stylesheet'\" media=\"screen\" >\n";
		}

return $output;
	}

/**
	 * Returns the HTML code to includes all js assets
	 * @return string
	 */
	public function get_scripts_content()
	{
		$output = '';
		foreach ($this->scripts as $script)
		{
			$output .= "<link href=\"{$script->get_url()}\" rel=\"preload\" as=\"script\">\n";
		}

return $output;
	}
}
Are there any pitfalls that I'm not aware of?

Would this be something that would be included in the next feature version or regular version?

chloe_qt123

Re: phpBB performance optimization by preloading all javascript and stylesheets

Post by chloe_qt123 »