Possible bug in acp features before acp login?

General discussion of development ideas and the approaches taken in the 3.x branch of phpBB. The current feature release of phpBB 3 is 3.3/Proteus.
Forum rules
Please do not post support questions regarding installing, updating, or upgrading phpBB 3.3.x. If you need support for phpBB 3.3.x please visit the 3.3.x Support Forum on phpbb.com.

If you have questions regarding writing extensions please post in Extension Writers Discussion to receive proper guidance from our staff and community.
Post Reply
User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:08 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

Possible bug in acp features before acp login?

Post by Dragosvr92 »

If you load a users page, but you are not logged in the ACP, clicking the Administer user link gets you on the board index, instead to the linked acp page.

(This can be done if you load the user page, then open Administration Control Panel in a tab. Or if you opened the user page in a tab and then clicked the acp link from your index page.)

Reloading the user page fixes it and the link gets properly loaded, instead of redirecting you to the board index.
Should i be opening a bug ticket for this, or its far too complicated to fix it for 3.1... or whatever?
Previous user: TheKiller
Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3
User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 1862
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:29 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: Possible bug in acp features before acp login?

Post by DavidIQ »

I'm not seeing that. Maybe you need to check the cookie settings? What I usually see happening is that the SID "cycles" and then it's no good to get into the ACP for some reason.
Image
User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:08 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Possible bug in acp features before acp login?

Post by Dragosvr92 »

After i first noticed the error behaviour, i cleared out all my site cookies and tried the login steps again. It reproduced the very same error.
Previous user: TheKiller
Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3
Lady_G
Registered User
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 3:02 pm

Re: Possible bug in acp features before acp login?

Post by Lady_G »

In addition to cookie settings, I would suggest purging the system cache. This will ensure both the server-side and browser caches start from a known (clean) setting.
User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:08 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Possible bug in acp features before acp login?

Post by Dragosvr92 »

  • Purged Cache.
  • Cleared all site cookies.
  • Went to board index.
  • Logged in forum.
  • Went to a user profile page.
  • Opened the ACP page in a new tab and logged in.
  • Clicked Administer user on the user profile page i had open.
  • The same issue.
I am running 3.1.8.
Previous user: TheKiller
Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3
Lady_G
Registered User
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2014 3:02 pm

Re: Possible bug in acp features before acp login?

Post by Lady_G »

Your description helped. I have reproduced your problem with the 3.1.x repository install (latest). I have updated the steps:
  • Login as administrator
  • Purged Cache.
  • Logged out, cleared all browser cookies
  • Went to board index.
  • Logged into forum as administrator, check "Remember me" box.
  • Went to a user profile page.
  • Opened the ACP page in a new tab and logged in.
  • Clicked Administer user on the user profile page i had open.
  • The same issue.
At the last step (returning to the Board index after clicking on Administer user), the URL is pointing to cache ("sid=").

Code: Select all

http://localhost/phpbb/phpBB/index.php?sid=69f604bb1da21a22aeabe9d434db9e3a
I navigate the forum, then:
  • Went to a user profile page.
  • Clicked Administer user on the user profile
I go directly to the Administration Control Panel.

:?: My guess : Perhaps an unforeseen condition (two browser windows open simultaneously) is causing a permissions problem. The result is to go to the Board Index as a way to protect permissions.

I will defer to the experienced developers for additional comments.
User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 1862
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:29 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: Possible bug in acp features before acp login?

Post by DavidIQ »

One tab has one SID while the other has another SID. I'm not seeing how we could do anything about that. The SID you have loaded in the browser tab where you have the profile open is invalidated after you log in to the ACP in the other tab. I'm assuming a cookie is being set after you log in to the ACP that causes the other page to get confused because there is now a cookie present that says you have validated for an ACP session but your actual SID does not match. I'm going to say this is more user error than an actual bug.
Image
User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:08 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Possible bug in acp features before acp login?

Post by Dragosvr92 »

... Which is why i dislike the sid. It should just be stored in a Cookie and be overwriten by the new one. Not to be stored in the url.
Previous user: TheKiller
Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3
Post Reply