Translations -- use GNU GetText please

General discussion of development ideas and the approaches taken in the 3.x branch of phpBB. The current feature release of phpBB 3 is 3.3/Proteus.
Forum rules
Please do not post support questions regarding installing, updating, or upgrading phpBB 3.3.x. If you need support for phpBB 3.3.x please visit the 3.3.x Support Forum on phpbb.com.

If you have questions regarding writing extensions please post in Extension Writers Discussion to receive proper guidance from our staff and community.
Jhong

Translations -- use GNU GetText please

Post by Jhong »

I did a search and didn't find anything recent relating to the phpBB translation process.

As a mod author, I find the translation system really grating:
- I have to keep track of constants across multiple files.
- As translations go out of date, the templates fall back to showing constants rather than the English equivalent.
- There are no good third-party tools for the phpBB translation system; why should translators have to learn PHP array syntax (however simple it may be?)

Not sure if Symfony will provide an in-built translation system, but I'd like to voice my support for the (pretty much industry-standard) gettext.

- As a developer, simply __('enclosing my strings like this') is easy and painless.
- For translators, they can use a multitude of tools to help them with the translation, including online tools like launchpad.net.
- When translated strings are missing, the original string is shown.
- The distribution and activation of language packs / files is effectively the same as it is now

I'd love to see this change.

J

Oleg

Re: Translations -- use GNU GetText please

Post by Oleg »

I am working with gettext in another project which is currently in early stages of development.