BBCodes - Dual Tag Req. ?

Discuss features as they are added to the new version. Give us your feedback. Don't post bug reports, feature requests, support questions or suggestions here.
Forum rules
Discuss features as they are added to the new version. Give us your feedback. Don't post bug reports, feature requests, support questions or suggestions here. Feature requests are closed.
Post Reply
drewsifer
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 4:09 am

BBCodes - Dual Tag Req. ?

Post by drewsifer » Wed Jun 06, 2007 4:18 am

Currently the BBCodes feature will only accept a custom code that has a matching open and close. While I suspect that was for reasons of accuracy checking, it's left out the option to have a single item command (like [tab]), as I've seen on countless mods. It seems like a syntax check comparing the BBCode usage section and the HTML replacement, or even a checkbox (or override checkbox) could allow for both options.

RetroBytes
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:33 am

Re: BBCodes - Dual Tag Req. ?

Post by RetroBytes » Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:39 am

I know this is an old post, but I wonder if there is any way to get around the closing tag requirement? For example I wanted to add a BBcode for inserting a horizontal rule just like <hr> in HTML but it just doesn't make any sense to require a closing tag for that.

Anybody? TIA

User avatar
naderman
Consultant
Posts: 1727
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 2:11 am
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

Re: BBCodes - Dual Tag Req. ?

Post by naderman » Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:57 pm

Nope sorry, BBCodes aren't designed that way, you might be able to accomplish it with a word censor though.

Elglobo
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:03 pm

Re: BBCodes - Dual Tag Req. ?

Post by Elglobo » Wed Dec 05, 2007 1:39 pm

Hi,
naderman wrote:you might be able to accomplish it with a word censor though.
In past, I opened this ticket #15229.
Actually, it's impossible to use HTML with Word censor.

I found a temporary solution, to use HTML in Word censor.
I make a new word censor in ACP, for example:
- censortest => <b>censortest</b>
At this moment, it doesn't work.
I modify this entry in phpMyadmin to replace <b> by <b> and </b> by </b>, I purge the cache and it's Ok.

Finally, It would be interesting to use BBcode in Word censor, maybe a feature ?

User avatar
Highway of Life
Registered User
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 10:18 pm
Location: I'd love to change the World, but they won't give me the Source Code
Contact:

Re: BBCodes - Dual Tag Req. ?

Post by Highway of Life » Wed Dec 05, 2007 5:17 pm

Elglobo wrote:Hi,
naderman wrote:you might be able to accomplish it with a word censor though.
In past, I opened this ticket #15229.
Actually, it's impossible to use HTML with Word censor.

I found a temporary solution, to use HTML in Word censor.
I make a new word censor in ACP, for example:
- censortest => <b>censortest</b>
At this moment, it doesn't work.
I modify this entry in phpMyadmin to replace <b> by <b> and </b> by </b>, I purge the cache and it's Ok.
That seems rather hacky to me. :?
Elglobo wrote:Finally, It would be interesting to use BBcode in Word censor, maybe a feature ?
Maybe a MOD.
Highly unlikely that such a thing would become a feature, but you can request it as a MOD on the main site phpBB.com 3.0 MOD Requests.
Also 3.0 likely won’t change much, but we could see some expanding of BBCode functionality in 3.2 or 3.4

sp11: 001000
Image

Post Reply