Use vertical resize on the textarea.

Discussion of general topics related to the new version and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Forum rules
Discussion of general topics related to the new release and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 1732
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:29 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: Use vertical resize on the textarea.

Post by DavidIQ » Fri Sep 14, 2012 1:44 am

This looks awfully familiar to another personal issue you had with the textarea for which you got denied as well... :roll:

Don't know why you keep trying to change 3.0 any chance you get when you know it's feature frozen. Stuck on the past much? ;-)

Edit: and here it is:
https://area51.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopi ... =3&t=43093
Image

User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:08 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Use vertical resize on the textarea.

Post by Dragosvr92 » Fri Sep 14, 2012 6:32 am

If you would have read better read the main post, you would have noticed that i mentioned that, and gave the link.
Previous user: TheKiller
Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3

User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:08 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Use vertical resize on the textarea.

Post by Dragosvr92 » Fri Sep 14, 2012 9:40 am

You answer me this. Is the textarea meant to be resized horizontally? The answer is NO.
It gets resized horizontally only if you do a bad move and get the cursor/grabber out of the posting page.

This is obviously a bloody bug and it should be fixed. It is incredibly EASY to apply, so i do not see why you would refuse to do so.
The final release of 3.0 should be as stable as possible in my opinion.
....As stable as it currently can be.

Is it so hard to add a line in the css files?
textarea {resize: vertical;}
Previous user: TheKiller
Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3

User avatar
callumacrae
Infrastructure Team
Infrastructure Team
Posts: 1046
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 9:37 am
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Use vertical resize on the textarea.

Post by callumacrae » Fri Sep 14, 2012 9:47 am

TheKiller wrote:You answer me this. Is the textarea meant to be resized horizontally? The answer is NO.
It gets resized horizontally only if you do a bad move and get the cursor/grabber out of the posting page.

This is obviously a bloody bug and it should be fixed. It is incredibly EASY to apply, so i do not see why you would refuse to do so.
The final release of 3.0 should be as stable as possible in my opinion.
....As stable as it currently can be.

Is it so hard to add a line in the css files?
textarea {resize: vertical;}
What happens if I want to make it smaller horizontally? Like I said before, I would agree with adding a max-width, which would stop the user from making it wider.
Made by developers, for developers!
My blog

User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:08 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Use vertical resize on the textarea.

Post by Dragosvr92 » Fri Sep 14, 2012 10:12 am

Dude, are you that dumb? It CANNOT Be made smaller horizontally !
It only gets a bit bigger, and messes up the similes box.

Just test the damn thing and see for yourselves. Then talk. Thanks.
If you would have been doing so, you would have figured out i am right, and would have agreed with the fix, other than talking nonsense.
Previous user: TheKiller
Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3

User avatar
canonknipser
Registered User
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 4:42 am
Location: Germany

Re: Use vertical resize on the textarea.

Post by canonknipser » Fri Sep 14, 2012 10:35 am

TheKiller wrote:... It CANNOT Be made smaller horizontally !
....
Thats a second problem with those textareas - normally you can make it smaller horizontally, but this one has also a min-width :roll:
Greetings, Frank

english is not my native language

User avatar
imkingdavid
Registered User
Posts: 1050
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 12:06 pm

Re: Use vertical resize on the textarea.

Post by imkingdavid » Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:07 pm

To note, I am using Google Chrome and cannot get the textarea to resize horizontally, either smaller or bigger. So I do not see the issue.

EDIT: Checked in Firefox as well. Is this only an Olympus issue?
I do custom MODs. PM for a quote!
View My: MODs | Portfolio
Please do NOT contact for support via PM or email.
Remember, the enemy's gate is down.

User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:08 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Use vertical resize on the textarea.

Post by Dragosvr92 » Fri Sep 14, 2012 1:30 pm

The issue is in Olympus and Ascraeus....
Previous user: TheKiller
Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3

User avatar
keith10456
Registered User
Posts: 523
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 10:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Use vertical resize on the textarea.

Post by keith10456 » Fri Sep 14, 2012 1:45 pm

+1 And confirmed on phpBB main website using Chrome v21.0 and FF v12. See screenshot below.

1) Start new topic.
2) Click and drag text area resizer... First drag it vertically (it won't allow you to drag it horizontally first), then drag it horizontally.

Image


* Edit - Just tested and confirmed in FF as well. Updated post.
Last edited by keith10456 on Fri Sep 14, 2012 1:59 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:08 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Use vertical resize on the textarea.

Post by Dragosvr92 » Fri Sep 14, 2012 1:49 pm

I just installed chrome and looked at the Textarea.

Guess what. It seems that the textarea there behaves the same way, as with the min-height: 268px; added, as i suggested previously.
It cant be made smaller. It can be enlarged horizontally, but it cant be made smaller. What are you guys really testing there.... :|

PS: On the first page i posted an screenshot made on area51, so im not sure why i was asked if its only an olympus issue..
Previous user: TheKiller
Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3

Post Reply