Notification on new topic

Discussion of general topics related to the new version and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Forum rules
Discussion of general topics related to the new release and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
jinjie

Notification on new topic

Post by jinjie »

Dear all,

Since this is my first post, I am going to do a short introduction. I am fairly new to phpBB3 development and have more than 7 years of PHP development experience.

I have just deployed a production phpBB3 and my customer is asking for a feature which meet these requirements:
- Notify all users who have permission to read in a forum when a new topic is posted in a forum

I have setup the forum this way:
- I have assigned 2 groups for each forum, one group for Standard Access and another for Moderator. Example, FORUM1_MEMBER, FORUM1_MODERATOR, FORUM2_MEMBER and FORUM2_MODERATOR
- I then set the permission of FORUM1 to include FORUM1_MEMBER (Standard Access) and FORUM1_MODERATOR (Standard Access)
- I create users and place them into the respective groups so they can read or moderate the respective forum they belong to.

The objective of the forum is to eliminate email conversation of case studies (topics) between group members and at the same time, log these messages so all member of the group is able to read the conversation in topic. I would say it works more like a mailing list with feature of a forum.

The Problem
I have read a few articles on the hook system and creating modules. I am still quite lost if I should approach the problem with hook or module. I am looking at two possibilities I can do: