ACM Modules

Discussion of general topics related to the new version and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Forum rules
Discussion of general topics related to the new release and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Post Reply
User avatar
Cheater512
Registered User
Posts: 245
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 1:29 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: ACM Modules

Post by Cheater512 »

Sorry for bumping the old thread.

David you dont need global $phpEx; in these extra modules you know. ;)

Also its probably a good idea to have a prefixing system so the variables are kept nice and neat.
Someone using these will probably be using the caches for other things as well.
(Note: I only looked at the memcache file)

cxvpn
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 10:08 am

Re: ACM Modules

Post by cxvpn »

how to install these file?just upload these files to /includes/acm/?how can i know it works with memcached?need any config in admin panel?

User avatar
bantu
3.0 Release Manager
3.0 Release Manager
Posts: 557
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

Re: ACM Modules

Post by bantu »

You would have to adjust the relevant configuration variable in config.php.

cxvpn
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 10:08 am

Re: ACM Modules

Post by cxvpn »

below is the content of my config.php file,how to config $acm_type? $acm_type='Memcache'?

Code: Select all

<?php
// phpBB 3.0.x auto-generated configuration file
// Do not change anything in this file!
$dbms = 'mysql';
$dbhost = 'localhost';
$dbport = '3306';
$dbname = 'phpbb';
$dbuser = 'root';
$dbpasswd = '***********';

$table_prefix = 'phpbb_';
$acm_type = 'file';
$load_extensions = '';

@define('PHPBB_INSTALLED', true);
// @define('DEBUG', true);
// @define('DEBUG_EXTRA', true);
?>

User avatar
bantu
3.0 Release Manager
3.0 Release Manager
Posts: 557
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

Re: ACM Modules

Post by bantu »

cxvpn wrote:below is the content of my config.php file,how to config $acm_type?$acm_type='Memcache'?

Code: Select all

$acm_type = 'memcache';    
The config var needs to basically match the filename in includes/acm the following way: acm_$acm_type.php

Martindale
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 9:47 pm

Re: ACM Modules

Post by Martindale »

Implemented, but how can I be sure that my new ACM is being utilized?

memcache in phpinfo() shows no active connections, even with a large number of users online. Is there a trace I can run to see memcache results?

User avatar
bantu
3.0 Release Manager
3.0 Release Manager
Posts: 557
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

Re: ACM Modules

Post by bantu »

Clear the cache folder. If no more files are generated and your board still works memcache is used.

Martindale
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 9:47 pm

Re: ACM Modules

Post by Martindale »

It looks like there are no more sql_ cache files, but template files are still being generated. I am assuming this is the expected behavior for a functioning ACM module?

APTX
Registered User
Posts: 680
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 12:07 pm

Re: ACM Modules

Post by APTX »

Yes, this is how it should be.
Don't give me my freedom out of pity!

Canadaka
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 12:28 am

Re: ACM Modules

Post by Canadaka »

I installed the memcache service on my server and tried running the "acm_memcache.php" for the last few days, but it actualy seems slower than the file cache. A typical viewtopic page with memcache has "35 queries + 4 queries returning data from cache" yet the same page with file cache is "25 queries + 4 queries returning data from cache" and almost half the generation time.

Post Reply