Why does this board use phpbb3?

Discussion of general topics related to the new version and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Forum rules
Discussion of general topics related to the new release and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
ILoveNitro
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 6:05 am

Why does this board use phpbb3?

Post by ILoveNitro »

Just curious, since its still in beta, isn't it kind of risky to use it on a live board?
Ectoman
Registered User
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2001 3:53 pm
Location: Denver CO
Contact:

Re: Why does this board use phpbb3?

Post by Ectoman »

lol.

I think the people who write the software know what they are doing.
ILoveNitro
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 6:05 am

Re: Why does this board use phpbb3?

Post by ILoveNitro »

Well obviously :P

Does that mean it is reasonable safe to use B2 in a live enviroment as long as we stay up to date with the latest bug reports etc?
Ectoman
Registered User
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2001 3:53 pm
Location: Denver CO
Contact:

Re: Why does this board use phpbb3?

Post by Ectoman »

A lot has changed since Beta 2..
ILoveNitro
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 6:05 am

Re: Why does this board use phpbb3?

Post by ILoveNitro »

Ectoman wrote: A lot has changed since Beta 2..


Where these changes released to the public, or do you mean that this board probably has special fixes in place to defeat any bugs until the next beta release?


Also, is this the latest download link?


Thanks
Sonrep
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 1:38 am

Re: Why does this board use phpbb3?

Post by Sonrep »

ILoveNitro wrote:
Ectoman wrote: A lot has changed since Beta 2..


Where these changes released to the public, or do you mean that this board probably has special fixes in place to defeat any bugs until the next beta release?


Also, is this the latest download link?


Thanks

Nope, this is the latest version.

Each day, a new CVS-version is released ;)
Ectoman
Registered User
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2001 3:53 pm
Location: Denver CO
Contact:

Re: Why does this board use phpbb3?

Post by Ectoman »

A new release is made public everyday.
ILoveNitro
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 6:05 am

Re: Why does this board use phpbb3?

Post by ILoveNitro »

Awsome, thanks guys I appreciate the help. So if I stay up to date on the CVS releases, it would be reasonably safe to use in a live enviroment?
brucecw
Registered User
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 4:39 pm

Re: Why does this board use phpbb3?

Post by brucecw »

ILoveNitro wrote: Well obviously :P

Does that mean it is reasonable safe to use B2 in a live enviroment as long as we stay up to date with the latest bug reports etc?


Besides the fact that this board isn't being run on the older Beta-2 milestone (in fact it's probably pretty close to the CVS and what will eventually be Beta-3), you'd have to be prepared to track any database changes to or risk losing all of your boards postings.

But if you're willing to make updates to your database schema to track changes in the CVS and/or your user community is willing to risk losing all your old postings (which might not be unreasonable in boards that are only discussing current events of some kind, or which are just trying out the features of the new software), then sure, it ought to be reasonably safe to use the current CVS version.

But be aware that these conditions do not apply to most boards.
bad-dj
Posts: 173
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2006 11:15 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Why does this board use phpbb3?

Post by bad-dj »

Well they use this borad well lets think about it why did they call this the Development Board think about it its for Development testing and thing for the Development team
Post Reply