beta 1 and now

Discussion of general topics related to the new version and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Forum rules
Discussion of general topics related to the new release and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
gLiTcH_

beta 1 and now

Post by gLiTcH_ »

So the bug tracker is open, but no announcement indicating that its already beta. Yet, with all these bug fixing commits, it sort of feels like we are already on beta. When Beta 1 hits, what are going to expect?

By the way, sorry if this sounds like a newbie question, I'm not really a software developer so I may not understand fully on the terms like beta, pre-beta, alpha, etc. bear with me. :)

Thanks! :)

the_dan

Re: beta 1 and now

Post by the_dan »

Beta will be essentially the same, except with the obvious bugs eliminated, and a degree of support being provided.

At the moment, the code is only avaliable to those who can sort it out themselves, and if they can't do it, they will recieve no help. This will carry on untill the most obvious bugs have been got rid of, and all the features have been properly completed, at which point a beta will be released.

NNO-Stephen

Post by NNO-Stephen »

beta is usually feature-complete and pretty buggy. RC1,2,etc. are release candidate 1 or two or whatever. they are the next step pas the beta phases and are as you would expect, all issues have been identified and resolved (at least all major issues, and as many as are known minor issues are resolved as well and they're digging for more bugs, but it's about to be released.

some devs follow the steps a bit differently, but that's basically what the steps mean.

R45

Post by R45 »