PHPBB2 theme to PHPBB3

All style (template, theme and imageset) related questions for the new release; advice, feedback here please.
Post Reply
rain91
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2006 9:34 pm

PHPBB2 theme to PHPBB3

Post by rain91 »

I'm sure this has been asked, cannot pinpoint the thread though. Is there anyway to easily convert my phpbb2 theme that I created so that it works with phpbb3?

thanks in advance guys!

User avatar
Nicholas the Italian
Registered User
Posts: 659
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 11:19 pm
Location: 46°8' N, 12°13' E
Contact:

Re: PHPBB2 theme to PHPBB3

Post by Nicholas the Italian »

No. Worlds apart.

User avatar
Lastof
Registered User
Posts: 518
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:10 pm
Location: Two weeks last wednesday
Contact:

Re: PHPBB2 theme to PHPBB3

Post by Lastof »

I didn't find it that hard, it only took me about a week of sporadic work to port a phpBB2 style that my users demanded to have back.
Last edited by Lastof on 04 May 2008, 00:00, edited -1 times in total
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Look, I'm officially not a bug!!
SHS`: "Oooh Bertie, spank me with that casing stick, spank me spank me spaaaaannnnk mee!"
Image

User avatar
Nicholas the Italian
Registered User
Posts: 659
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 11:19 pm
Location: 46°8' N, 12°13' E
Contact:

Re: PHPBB2 theme to PHPBB3

Post by Nicholas the Italian »

Ok, question was "is there any way to easily convert my phpbb2 theme ... so that it works with phpbb3?", and answer is no.
Of course you can refactor your theme so it can work with phpbb3. This is more difficult if you want to
a) include all of the new features
b) write it following phpbb3/xhtml/tableless design philosophy
in which case it's probably quicker and more effective to just start over new.
This said, of course you can do it. There's just no automatic tool nor step-by-step procedure, AFAIK.

Post Reply