Image dimensions?

All style (template, theme and imageset) related questions for the new release; advice, feedback here please.
Post Reply
Case
Registered User
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 9:44 am
Contact:

Image dimensions?

Post by Case »

Just out of interest, why are the images dimensions defined in the imageset.cfg file? What advantage does this have?

I see you can chose if the image should be restricted to these dimensions in the style tab of the ACP.

Just curious why you would have it there in the first place.

Thanks.
User avatar
Highway of Life
Registered User
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 10:18 pm
Location: I'd love to change the World, but they won't give me the Source Code
Contact:

Re: Image dimensions?

Post by Highway of Life »

Because sometimes height/width is required.
That information is then transfered to the database and the cache for use throughout the system where height/width is necessary.
Many servers don’t support getimagesize, and it’s also a lot faster and more efficient if they are already defined.
:)
Image
Case
Registered User
Posts: 60
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 9:44 am
Contact:

Re: Image dimensions?

Post by Case »

Interesting. S'all new too me.

Thanks Highway.
Post Reply