Bug? with Templates

Wondering why that MOD you have won't install correctly? Let's take a look
Forum rules
DO NOT give out any FTP passwords to anyone! There is no reason to do so! If you need help badly enough, create a temporary FTP account that is restricted to only the files that you need help with and give the information for that. Giving out FTP information can be very dangerous!
Locked
M.O.B.
Registered User
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:17 pm

Bug? with Templates

Post by M.O.B. »

phpBB Forum 2.0.23
EasyMOD 0.3.0 (beta)


I hope I can explain my problem--feel free to ask questions if you see I missed an explanation. Thanks in advance.

Problem:
I have two templates on my board. One is the default subSilver template. And the other one is called Odyssey. Anyways, I think I found a bug, for some reason (I think) EasyMOD confuses the template subSilver as the Odyssey template. Here is the issue.

I am trying to install this code:

Code: Select all

# 
#-----[ OPEN ]------------------------------------------ 
#

templates/subSilver/overall_header.tpl

# 
#-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------ 
#
				<img src="templates/subSilver/images/mob_logo2.gif" border="0" alt="{L_INDEX}" vspace="1" width="100%" height="200"/></a></td></tr><tr>

# 
#-----[ REPLACE WITH ]------------------------------------------ 
#

				<img src="templates/subSilver/images/random_logo/logo.php" border="0" alt="{L_INDEX}" vspace="1" width="100%" height="200"/></a></td></tr><tr>

# 
#-----[ SAVE/CLOSE ALL FILES ]------------------------------------------ 
# 
# EoM
The error I get when I run that code in EasyMOD is the following:
Critical Error

FIND FAILED: In file [templates/subSilver/overall_header.tpl] could not find:

<img src="templates/Odyssey/images/mob_logo2.gif" border="0" alt="{L_INDEX}" vspace="1" width="100%" height="200"/></a></td></tr><tr>
Now don't worry, I know that the subSilver template doesn't have that code, the reason it exists on mine, is that I have modified my forum.

Question:
Anyways, here is the question? Why is EasyMOD trying to find the code "templates/Odyssey/images....etc" in the subSilver file? Of course that code string doesn't exist there, the code that does exist in the subSilver page is "templates/subSilver/images... etc".

So why is EasyMod confusing the subSilver file as an Odyssey file? Or why is it trying to find an Odyssey code where of course it wouldn't exist in the subSilver file?

I seem to always get this issue when I need to change a code string in subSilver where it would indicate the subSilver string for me to Find in EasyMOD.

Please help? I don't know what could be wrong.

Workaround:
I have to change the template name in the code string from "subSilver" to "Odyssey" in the subSilver page in order for EasyMOD to proceed installing the hack (mod).

What I have tried to do to repair this:
I have already reinstalled EasyMOD -- thinking there might be an issue with it. But it still generates this bug.

P.S. I have Google Toolbar on my IE browser, and when I try to do a Spell Check from the Google Toolbar, it doesn't execute on your forum for some odd reason when I am checking for any spell errors before I submit my post.
Image

User avatar
stickerboy
Registered User
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 3:05 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Bug? with Templates

Post by stickerboy »

Moved to 'Installing MODs with EasyMOD' - please read the forum descriptions before posting.
Discussion != Support
I'm a web-designing code-decrypting tech-support musician
|| Twitter || Flickr || phpBB Snippets ||
Formerly known as cherokee red

M.O.B.
Registered User
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:17 pm

Re: Bug? with Templates

Post by M.O.B. »

Sorry, I must have confused it with "installing EasyMOD". :oops:
Image

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:26 pm

Re: Bug? with Templates

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

DJ Andre wrote:Sorry, I must have confused it with "installing EasyMOD". :oops:
please post the complete MOD file you are trying to install.

use the code tags.

robert

M.O.B.
Registered User
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:17 pm

Re: Bug? with Templates

Post by M.O.B. »

Hi,

Keep in mind this bug occurs when in the template code string the templates name appears within the code "subSilver". So it happens with just about any other hack that has the name of the template within the code string. But hopefully you can fix the bug that occurs.

Here is the code you need: (FYI, I uninstalled this hack from my site, becuase it wasn't working the way I wanted it to work).

Code: Select all

##########################################################################
## MOD Title: Random php Based Forum's Logo 
## MOD Author: DarkPepe <darkpepe@gmail.com> (N/A) http://www.bf1942.cl 
## MOD Description: This Little script allows to change randomly your forum's logo on every refresh of the page. 
##
## MOD Version: 1.0.0 
## 
## Installation Level: Easy
## Installation Time: 2 Minutes 
##
## Files To Edit: 
##              templates/subSilver/overall_header.tpl        
## Included Files: 
## 	  templates/subSilver/images/random_logo/logo.php	        
##
##########################################################################
## For Security Purposes, Please Check: http://www.phpbb.com/mods/ for the 
## latest version of this MOD. Downloading this MOD from other sites could cause malicious code 
## to enter into your phpBB Forum. As such, phpBB will not offer support for MOD's not offered 
## in our MOD-Database, located at: http://www.phpbb.com/mods/ 
##########################################################################
## Author Notes: This is the first release of this mod.
## To make the mod Work, you have to Upload all your logos on jpg format to
## /templates/subsilver/images/random_logo/
## 
## Read install_random_gif_logo.txt for Gif logos.
##########################################################################
## MOD History: 
## 
##   05, Spt. 2004 - Version 0.0.1 
##      - First Release 
##   07, Spt. 2004 - Version 1.0.0
##      - Mod Template Correction
##########################################################################
## Before Adding This MOD To Your Forum, You Should Back Up All Files Related To This MOD 
##########################################################################

#
#-----[ COPY ]--------------------------------------
#
copy root/templates/subSilver/images/random_logo/logo.php to templates/subSilver/images/random_logo/logo.php

#
#-----[ OPEN ]--------------------------------------
#

templates/subSilver/overall_header.tpl

#
#-----[ FIND ]--------------------------------------
#

				<img src="templates/subSilver/images/mob_logo2.gif" border="0" alt="{L_INDEX}" vspace="1" width="100%" height="200"/></a></td></tr><tr>

#
#-----[ REPLACE WITH ]--------------------------------------
#

				<img src="templates/subSilver/images/random_logo/logo.php" border="0" alt="{L_INDEX}" vspace="1" width="100%" height="200"/></a></td></tr><tr>

#
#-----[ SAVE/CLOSE ALL FILES ]------------------------------------------
#
# EoM
Image

User avatar
Kevin Clark
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 751
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 5:34 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Bug? with Templates

Post by Kevin Clark »

Crumbs. Is it worth using easyMOD for that?
Copy one file and do one edit.
Finished.

EasyMOD tries to do template changes in all the available templates. Sounds like it's falling over trying to find that line of code in your other template.
Image

M.O.B.
Registered User
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:17 pm

Re: Bug? with Templates

Post by M.O.B. »

Kevin Clark wrote:Crumbs. Is it worth using easyMOD for that?
Copy one file and do one edit.
Finished.
What's the use of reporting a bug when you then get told not to use EasyMOD? I guess a simlilar solution for you would be, if your Word Processor software is buggy, don't report it to software company, simply take out that old reliable typewriter and "tap-tap-tap" away.
EasyMOD tries to do template changes in all the available templates. Sounds like it's falling over trying to find that line of code in your other template.
Please re-read the bug report I presented in my first post. It should inform you the issue. If you don't understand my explanation, please let me know, I can always try a different way.
Image

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:26 pm

Re: Bug? with Templates

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

DJ Andre wrote:
Kevin Clark wrote:Crumbs. Is it worth using easyMOD for that?
Copy one file and do one edit.
Finished.
What's the use of reporting a bug when you then get told not to use EasyMOD? I guess a simlilar solution for you would be, if your Word Processor software is buggy, don't report it to software company, simply take out that old reliable typewriter and "tap-tap-tap" away.
EasyMOD tries to do template changes in all the available templates. Sounds like it's falling over trying to find that line of code in your other template.
Please re-read the bug report I presented in my first post. It should inform you the issue. If you don't understand my explanation, please let me know, I can always try a different way.
Ok, I can't reproduce your problem. I did discover that the MOD is not written very well. subSilver is written subsilver every time, therefore, the MOD can't possibly work correctly. This may be what is causing your particular problem.

also, when I installed it, the random_logo directory that it created was chmod 777 instead of 755 and therefore would not show the images at all until I corrected it.

in conclusion, what you observed is not a bug, but something in the way that you are using the script.

I have installed and run easymod hundreds of times without this problem at all.

luck,
robert

M.O.B.
Registered User
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:17 pm

Re: Bug? with Templates

Post by M.O.B. »

Yes, if you try to use the original MOD, the subSilver was misspelled, but even when I correct the misspelling, it still does that I explained in my first post above. This happened a few more times when the code string says... templates/subSilver/... -- it's a very strange bug.

The site where you tried to install this, do you have other templates besides subSilver?
Image

User avatar
Kevin Clark
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 751
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 5:34 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Bug? with Templates

Post by Kevin Clark »

DJ Andre wrote:
Kevin Clark wrote:Crumbs. Is it worth using easyMOD for that?
Copy one file and do one edit.
Finished.
What's the use of reporting a bug when you then get told not to use EasyMOD? I guess a simlilar solution for you would be, if your Word Processor software is buggy, don't report it to software company, simply take out that old reliable typewriter and "tap-tap-tap" away.
My point is, you're worrying about a bug in a very old MOD that was released before EM even came out that consists entirely of one file copy and one line paste. It's not something I've ever seen before and I don't think anyone else has reported (that I can remember). It seems like a lot of grief for what amounts to 2 minutes work to install the MOD you want.

I'm not ignoring the fact that it might be a bug but EM works properly with MODs that are written for it.
Image

Locked