Installing new template?

Wondering why that MOD you have won't install correctly? Let's take a look
Forum rules
DO NOT give out any FTP passwords to anyone! There is no reason to do so! If you need help badly enough, create a temporary FTP account that is restricted to only the files that you need help with and give the information for that. Giving out FTP information can be very dangerous!
Locked
smarta
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:40 am

Installing new template?

Post by smarta » Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:49 am

Hi - I have successfully installed EasyMod onto a board - now I wish to change the template for the board from "subSilver" to another template called "bitpink". I have installed the new template folder where it is supposed to be - however the new template is not available in the pull down menu in the boards configuration panel.

My questions are ...

1. is it possile to run a baord with EasyMod installed and use a template other than "subSilver" ?

2. I wish to install easymod on several other boards I have that have been established for quite a while - all these boards use other templates and I don't wish to change that .... can I install EasyMod onto a board using a template different to subSilver?

User avatar
Poomerio
Registered User
Posts: 552
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 7:09 pm
Location: 4(x - 20y) = 20

Re: Installing new template?

Post by Poomerio » Mon Sep 17, 2007 7:06 pm

As long as you have subSilver installed, then you can install EasyMOD fine.
When adding new templates, I would recommend adding them before installing EasyMOD, or any other MODs.

So you would like to install a template other than subSilver, after EasyMOD was installed?

1/ Is any other MODs installed?

- Poomie

Overgrown
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 6:58 pm

Re: Installing new template?

Post by Overgrown » Sun Sep 23, 2007 10:04 pm

this was a bummer to learn. i was thinking it was the other way around :(

so then what needs to be done in order to install a new template AFTER EZMOD and a few other needed MODS?

is it possible to do without really having to tamper with a large mess of files?

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:26 pm

Re: Installing new template?

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Sat Sep 29, 2007 5:43 pm

Overgrown wrote:this was a bummer to learn. i was thinking it was the other way around :(

so then what needs to be done in order to install a new template AFTER EZMOD and a few other needed MODS?

is it possible to do without really having to tamper with a large mess of files?
there is no problem installing new templates at any time.

the thing is that many MODs ( including easymod ) either change or add template ( tpl ) files.

so, any time a MOD says to alter subSilver or adds tpl files, you have to do the same thing to all of your styles/templates.

for easymod to show up in your admin panel, you either have to be using subSilver in the admin panel or you have to copy all the easymod tpl files over to the admin folder of whatever style you are using.

once you have easymod installed, then when you install a new MOD, it will attempt to do the edits to those tpl files as well as the subSilver ones.

If your style is way different than subSilver, it won't be able to find the relevant code and therefore will not make those edits sometimes.

However, easymod will finish the MOD install and give you a warning about the tpl files not being changed.

robert

Overgrown
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2007 6:58 pm

Re: Installing new template?

Post by Overgrown » Sun Sep 30, 2007 5:51 pm

Thanks Robert,

i installed a bunch of mods (all from this site) and all but the last one without any errors.

now i do wish to change the style. i have a second 'test' board and saw that the mods installed after i added the new style were edited with ez mod and work in that style mode as well but the installed PRE-NewStyle and the mods installed prior do not show up in the new Style at all. I do not know exactly how to go about changing the tpl files. if i knew the code (ill learn it) i guess it will be easier. seems like it might be tedious, but certainly willing to learn.

- since all this started (me wanting to upgrade and get my board alive again) after i was spammed for about 6 months straight from not moderating my board at all, the google spiders have spammed the internet with the spammers links and text in my forum even though i emptied all threads/posts etc.
- im wondering if these search results will ever go away or how long that will take? Because its a family type board and the spam is 99% porn, pills and casino. I even found a website that shows a list of many, (im guessing 'abandonded' BB's for the spammers to go nuts on) and im in their list of course. so, no wonder.
- my website pages were also hacked (dont know for how long, coulda been 5+ months), )but thankfully i changed the PWs to everything (all different) and no more probs since. but the same thing... my business pages are coming up as porn and the like with nasty titles lol. so that really sux for me. im hoping that they will fade and I dont lose any real users because of this.


but man, a few very simple mods REALLY work to keep spammers out! Since the hour that finished the 3rd simple mod I havent had ONE single mock registered user or even guest post after installing them. only 3 mods. i wish i woulda knew about these a long time ago, my fault. I didnt think my board would be popular at all and I guess they were ALL bots. and the fact that placed a post about deleting any spam within a few hours of posting may have detered the humans.

sorry to ramble....

but im thinking now, since i want to change the style and add some more complex mods that ezmod wont install for me, that id like to start over. not sure exactly how to do this. Id like to keep the posts that are there and the categories if possible. if not, i can live with re-doing the whole thing. just sux that im on dial up.

im also having trouble with the mods that are not compliant with easymod. I tried to install one and placed the url correctly in my browser pointing towards the install.txt and it did install someting, but cant see any results on the board. so i have no way to know (being green still) if the mod worked or not.

I would really like to know how to UNinstall mods if this is possible? I do have a couple that have uninstall.php files but it wouldnt allow me to uninstall the mod.

also... yes i know (sorry) - i accidentally deleted a mod under phpbb/admin/mods/ that was installed and was working fine. it sill is working fine and I found out that you cant over write the mods in easymod. i tried renaming the mod file and version Number inside the install.txt file, but once it got to editing the actual files to edit, it gave a warning and i didnt want to take a chance so i abanonded it and there still working.

But Really, i would just like to know if it is possible to uninstall all the mods and start from scratch without a lot of problems?

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:26 pm

Re: Installing new template?

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Sun Sep 30, 2007 8:14 pm

thet best way to start from scratch is simply overwrite all of your phpbb files ( except for the config.php file ) with new ones from here.

then you have a brand new board with no MODs and all your posts, members, categories, etc. still there.

Then, if you are going to offer more than one style to your members, you need to install all of them before you start over with the MODs.

Then, when you install the MODs using easymod, it will most likely be able to find the code and make the changes to all of them.

There are many styles out there that easymod will not be able to find the same code as subSilver has, and therefore will choke and give you warnings about it.

When installing a MOD using easymod, a WARNING is nothing to worry about, CRITICAL failures mean that the MOD did not install.

If you have those type of problems or if you are installing a MOD by hand, then you will have to do any tpl (style) edits by hand as well. ( remember, you have to do them to all styles that you and/or your members will be using.)

robert

jagou
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 2:22 pm

Re: Installing new template?

Post by jagou » Mon Oct 01, 2007 3:02 pm

Hey Folks, I tried pretty hard to dig around in here to see if it has been answered already... I found a few things (learned some things :)) but was unable to solve my little issue.

I installed EasyMod and a couple of mods with no hitch but now I have installed a new template, SubBlack, and I can only access EM if I switch back to SubSilver. If I try to access EM through the ACP I get what appears to be a blank page but in fact has a black background as well as black text. If I do a 'select all' on the page it reveals this error message...

Code: Select all

Template->make_filename(): Error - file admin/mod_header.tpl does not exist
I found a copy of this particular file (mod_header.tpl) in another directory, 'Includes', but I am skeptical about arbitrarily copying or moving files around not understanding what I am doing, I worry I might do more harm than good.

I have learned, I think this is right, that if I had installed the template first all would be well.

Can someone tell me what I might do to fix this ?

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:26 pm

Re: Installing new template?

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie » Mon Oct 01, 2007 4:33 pm

jagou wrote:Hey Folks, I tried pretty hard to dig around in here to see if it has been answered already... I found a few things (learned some things :)) but was unable to solve my little issue.

I installed EasyMod and a couple of mods with no hitch but now I have installed a new template, SubBlack, and I can only access EM if I switch back to SubSilver. If I try to access EM through the ACP I get what appears to be a blank page but in fact has a black background as well as black text. If I do a 'select all' on the page it reveals this error message...

Code: Select all

Template->make_filename(): Error - file admin/mod_header.tpl does not exist
I found a copy of this particular file (mod_header.tpl) in another directory, 'Includes', but I am skeptical about arbitrarily copying or moving files around not understanding what I am doing, I worry I might do more harm than good.

I have learned, I think this is right, that if I had installed the template first all would be well.

Can someone tell me what I might do to fix this ?

Thanks in advance.
the easiest thing to do is to copy your subSilver/admin folder over to your subBlack folder.

first, rename your subBlack admin folder to admin_black or whatever.
then copy the subSilver one over.

robert

jagou
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 2:22 pm

Re: Installing new template?

Post by jagou » Mon Oct 01, 2007 6:53 pm

Thanks for the reply...

I tried your susggestion with no luck. When I login to the ACP everything is garbled and unreadable.

I'll iterate the procedure here just so you can tell me I if I did it as I was supposed to.

With my FTP program, I went to my subsilver folder, downloaded the admin folder to my local machine, then I went to my subblack folder and renamed the admin folder there to admin_bak, I then uploaded the admin folder I had downloaded from the subsilver to the subblack folder. Then I tried to login. It was just a garbled mess. The dialog boxes, as best as I could tell were somewhere around 3 pixels tall. Somewhat humorous in a way....but not really :P

I deleted the admin from subsilver and changed the backed up folder back to its original name and all is well, but I still cannot access EasyMod without changing to subsilver first.

It's not a terrible terrible inconvenience to switch to subsilver once in a while to install a mod, I just hate it when things don't behave the way they should and I figure as long as I'm trying to learn this is as good an exercise as any.

jagou
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2007 2:22 pm

Re: Installing new template?

Post by jagou » Thu Oct 04, 2007 4:36 pm

Anyone ?

I don't mean to just 'bump' the thread.

Just would like to resolve this mishap.

Locked