Copy Error ... I know it's me, but ...

Having problems installing EM? Let's fix that
Forum rules
DO NOT give out any FTP passwords to anyone! There is no reason to do so! If you need help badly enough, create a temporary FTP account that is restricted to only the files that you need help with and give the information for that. Giving out FTP information can be very dangerous!
Locked
Deon
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 9:16 am

Copy Error ... I know it's me, but ...

Post by Deon » Thu Mar 08, 2007 9:21 am

Hi there.

I have just downloaded EasyMod and am so looking forward to use it, but I am having difficulty to install it.

Config:
Win XP Prof, IIS, PHP 5.1, mySQL.

When I'm running this:

http://localhost/phpbb/admin/mods/easym ... nstall.php

I get this error:
COPY ERROR: You do not have copy access. Move method cannot be used.

I am the Admin of my machine. How do I advance to the next step?
Please help me?

Regards,
deon

Nightrider
Registered User
Posts: 7219
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 8:54 pm
Location: Florida, US
Contact:

Re: Copy Error ... I know it's me, but ...

Post by Nightrider » Thu Mar 08, 2007 9:23 am

Did you choose the Windows Server Install Option in the first step???

Image

Image

Deon
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 9:16 am

Re: Copy Error ... I know it's me, but ...

Post by Deon » Thu Mar 08, 2007 9:29 am

Nightrider,

thanx for the reply. Yes, I chose the second button:
"This is a Windows server and I don't have to worry about file permissions."

This is why it hurts so much not to advance to next level.

Awaiting your commands.

Regards,
Deon

Nightrider
Registered User
Posts: 7219
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 8:54 pm
Location: Florida, US
Contact:

Re: Copy Error ... I know it's me, but ...

Post by Nightrider » Thu Mar 08, 2007 9:33 am

Rescan Option

Ok, do you see a rescan option at the bottom of this page when you get this error? If so, click on it. Hopefully on the next page, you will be given the Automcatic Detection option. If so, go with it...

Image

Image

Deon
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 9:16 am

Re: Copy Error ... I know it's me, but ...

Post by Deon » Thu Mar 08, 2007 9:56 am

Ok, it worked, WOW (but then you knew it would ;) )

What do I have to choose next?

I'll try using the FTP option. (requires FTP access)
I have now modified my file permissions, try rescanning to see if EasyMOD has access.
I will use the post_process script to automatically move files into place. (requires knowledge of how to execute a script)
I will have to download the files and manually move them into place
I'd like to select something else. (Advanced Mode)

Regards,
deon

Nightrider
Registered User
Posts: 7219
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 8:54 pm
Location: Florida, US
Contact:

Re: Copy Error ... I know it's me, but ...

Post by Nightrider » Thu Mar 08, 2007 10:04 am

No, you didn't get the Automated method like I had hoped you would. Do you have any folder restrictions on the drive or folders where you have stored your forum???

Image

Deon
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 9:16 am

Re: Copy Error ... I know it's me, but ...

Post by Deon » Thu Mar 08, 2007 10:34 am

Good point about permissions.

I have just given the whole admin-folder full control permissions in Windows Explorer. Is there anything else I can do or that I am missing?

(Thanx again for your patience & help!)

deon

Nightrider
Registered User
Posts: 7219
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 8:54 pm
Location: Florida, US
Contact:

Re: Copy Error ... I know it's me, but ...

Post by Nightrider » Thu Mar 08, 2007 10:35 am

I really don't know of what else you can change. Hopefully what you have done now will be enough...

Image

Deon
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 9:16 am

Re: Copy Error ... I know it's me, but ...

Post by Deon » Thu Mar 08, 2007 11:26 am

Hi again.

I changed the permissions up to root of phpbb and got the installation to go on.

Everything went smooth untill the last screen when I got this:

Result :: Some queries failed, the statements and errors are listing below

Error :: Table 'phpbb.phpbb_easymod' doesn't exist
SQL :: INSERT INTO phpbb_easymod ( mod_title, mod_file, mod_version, mod_author_handle, mod_author_email, mod_author_name, mod_author_url, mod_description, mod_process_date, mod_phpBB_version, mod_processed_themes, mod_processed_langs, mod_files_edited, mod_tables_added, mod_tables_altered, mod_rows_inserted) VALUES ( 'EasyMOD', 'easymod/easymod_install.php', '0.3.0', 'Nuttzy', 'pktoolkit@blizzhackers.com', 'n/a', 'http://www.blizzhackers.com', 'EasyMOD automatically perfoms in seconds which previously required the tedious task of manually editing files.', 1173353641, '2.0.22', 'subSilver', 'english', 0, 1, 0, 1)



Error

Could not successfully update table. Something is wrong and install cannot complete.

Expanded Debug Info
(formatted for forum posting)
EM installer v0.3.0 wrote: EM status: New Install
phpBB version: 2.0.22
Working Dir: c:\Inetpub\wwwroot\phpbb\admin\mods\easymod
Install Step: 7
Mode:

The Error wrote:
Could not successfully update table. Something is wrong and install cannot complete.




Permissions: (including system errors)

read access :: OK
write access :: OK
root path write :: OK
chmod access :: OK
unlink access :: OK
mkdir access :: OK
tmp path write :: OK
FTP extension :: OK
Safe Mode :: OFF
copy access :: OK


Additional System Information:

System: Windows NT DEONPC 5.1 build 2600
Configure Command: cscript /nologo configure.js "--enable-snapshot-build" "--with-gd=shared"
PHP version: 5.0.3
register_globals: OFF
magic_quotes_gpc: ON
magic_quotes_runtime: OFF
allow_url_fopen: ON
sockets_support: N/A


Recommendations:
write: server
move: copy

Selected settings:
write: server
move: copy
ftp dir: /
ftp host: localhost
ftp port: 21
ftp debug: false
ftp ext: fsock
ftp cache: false

CWD Listing:

Code: Select all

drwxrwxrwx . 
drwxrwxrwx .. 
-rw-rw-rw- easymod.gif 
-rw-rw-rw- easymod_display_functions.php 
-rw-rw-rw- easymod_install.php 
drwxrwxrwx em_includes 
drwxrwxrwx includes 
drwxrwxrwx languages 
-rwxrwxrwx post_process.bat 
-rw-rw-rw- post_process.sh 
drwxrwxrwx templates 
Not testing FTP since it is not being used.


I cannot understand what can be wrong with the table as it holds no data apart from my username & password.

Thanx anyway.
Deon

Nightrider
Registered User
Posts: 7219
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 8:54 pm
Location: Florida, US
Contact:

Re: Copy Error ... I know it's me, but ...

Post by Nightrider » Thu Mar 08, 2007 12:14 pm

The username that you have assigned to connect to your phpBB forum in your config.php file needs to have FULL Privileges before EM can create and update the tables. You should be able to correct this in MySql if you are using the MySql database...

Changing Database Username Privileges

I have seen several different flavors of this in MySql, so what you see may be slightly different from what I'm posting below. It should give you a good idea of where to look and what to do though...

Next to the database in MySql, you should see something like this icon. Click on it:

Image

That should take you to your MySQL database management page. At the bottom, you should see a section named Database users. Click on this icon:

Image

That should bring you to the Edit privileges page that may or may not look something like this. I have seen several different versions on this page but you should be able to figure out what to change:

Image

After pressing the Submit button, you should be able to finish the EM install..

Image

Locked