[RFC] Merge "Customise" and ".MODs" Tab in ACP

Note: We are moving the topics of this forum and it will be deleted at some point

Publish your own request for comments/change or patches for the next version of phpBB. Discuss the contributions and proposals of others. Upcoming releases are 3.2/Rhea and 3.3.
User avatar
NORDLANDVOLK
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:14 pm
Location: Tracia

Re: [RFC] Merge "Customise" and ".MODs" Tab in ACP

Post by NORDLANDVOLK »

Nice idea nickvergessen
+10
sorry for my bad english :oops:
User avatar
MattF
Extension Customisations
Extension Customisations
Posts: 674
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 9:18 am

Re: [RFC] Merge "Customise" and ".MODs" Tab in ACP

Post by MattF »

How about name the .MODs tab "Add-ons" ? Could work for Extensions, Mods, etc.)
Has an irascible disposition.
leschek
Registered User
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 1:30 pm

Re: [RFC] Merge "Customise" and ".MODs" Tab in ACP

Post by leschek »

DavidIQ wrote:
leschek wrote:If someone installs lot of MODs (Extensions) with submodules it is very annoying to choose some submodule at the bottom of left panel and scroll up to the top to change setting and then again down to choose another submodule of the same or different MOD (extension) and scroll back up again. That's why on my forum I split MODs tab into two tabs. So I would prefer not to merge it. Maybe if we (admins) could change order of modules in the left panel, so admins would be able to move the most used modules to the top.
That is incorrect. If you click on a sub-module at the bottom of any tab in the ACP or anywhere else you'll end up at the top of the page since the entire page reloads. There is no scrolling up after clicking on a sub-module.
You are right. How could I miss it. But you still have to scroll down, if you want to change settings in different submodule of the MOD at the bottom.
User avatar
nickvergessen
Former Team Member
Posts: 733
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 11:54 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Contact:

Re: [RFC] Merge "Customise" and ".MODs" Tab in ACP

Post by nickvergessen »

When we don't merge the tabs, I actually would go with "Extensions" for the second tab.
Member of the Development-TeamNo Support via PM
User avatar
brunoais
Registered User
Posts: 964
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:55 pm

Re: [RFC] Merge "Customise" and ".MODs" Tab in ACP

Post by brunoais »

I agree with @VSE+ . Mods should stay in the .Mod tab. That way admins know where to find new content (unless the extension is meant to increase functionality of another functionality of the forum like adding a new permission)
User avatar
DarkBeing
Registered User
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 2:32 pm
Location: Currently Estonia
Contact:

Re: [RFC] Merge "Customise" and ".MODs" Tab in ACP

Post by DarkBeing »

I think before anything is to be merged it should be clarified what "it" is to be named in 3.1. What do we have now Mods? Extensions? or something else?
keith10456
Registered User
Posts: 523
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 10:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [RFC] Merge "Customise" and ".MODs" Tab in ACP

Post by keith10456 »

DarkBeing wrote:I think before anything is to be merged it should be clarified what "it" is to be named in 3.1. What do we have now Mods? Extensions? or something else?
Agreed...
User avatar
nickvergessen
Former Team Member
Posts: 733
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 11:54 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Contact:

Re: [RFC] Merge "Customise" and ".MODs" Tab in ACP

Post by nickvergessen »

3.1 should only have extensions. However when you update your board, the previously installed module of mods are still there.
Member of the Development-TeamNo Support via PM
User avatar
DarkBeing
Registered User
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 2:32 pm
Location: Currently Estonia
Contact:

Re: [RFC] Merge "Customise" and ".MODs" Tab in ACP

Post by DarkBeing »

I see the reason behind that, but I think that creates a big mess. Personally I would like to see two tabs, "Customize" and "Legacy". Where in the later all the 3.0 MODs, which still need to be supported would go.
User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 1875
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:29 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: [RFC] Merge "Customise" and ".MODs" Tab in ACP

Post by DavidIQ »

Most of them, if not all of them, wouldn't work anyways. ;)
Image
Post Reply