[RFC] LESS CSS

Note: We are moving the topics of this forum and it will be deleted at some point

Publish your own request for comments/change or patches for the next version of phpBB. Discuss the contributions and proposals of others. Upcoming releases are 3.2/Rhea and 3.3.
callumacrae
Former Team Member

[RFC] LESS CSS

Post by callumacrae »

LESS is an *awesome* CSS preprocessor that extends CSS hugely, adding variables, mathematical operations, mixins and a lot more useful tools. It makes writing CSS a lot easier.

It uses pretty much exactly the same syntax as CSS itself; it only adds stuff and doesn't change stuff, meaning that existing CSS can be used. This is not a CoffeeScript / HAML equivalent for CSS, this is actually nicer than the language itself.

See http://lesscss.org/ for a tonne of good examples. My favourite features are variables, mixins and nesting, but I'm not a designer - they might find the colour functions very useful (a stylesheet written using LESS CSS with all the colours without each other would certainly be easy to colorize!).

There are a couple LESS CSS compilers for PHP, but I haven't really looked into them yet.

Advantages
  • Adds features to CSS and makes writing CSS very easy - this is a HUGE advantage
  • Can handle minification
Disadvantages
  • Needs to be compiled (but can be cached)
  • May cause some confusion for style authors (but they don't have to use it, and it is very easy to pick up anyway).
Made by developers, for developers!
My blog

brunoais

Re: [RFC] LESS CSS

Post by brunoais »

I'd love to have that! (+1)
Minification is also very useful to reduce bandwidth and increase speed.

I've checked out the php compiler and it seemed like it works correctly.
This can work with normal CSS (just ignores it (?)) so no need to change the current files to use this.
With the php compiler we should be able to compile the .css and place them in the cache everytime the cache is purged.