Database table names MUST have a prefix.

General discussion of development ideas and the approaches taken in the 3.x branch of phpBB. The current feature release of phpBB 3 is 3.3/Proteus.
Forum rules
Please do not post support questions regarding installing, updating, or upgrading phpBB 3.3.x. If you need support for phpBB 3.3.x please visit the 3.3.x Support Forum on phpbb.com.

If you have questions regarding writing extensions please post in Extension Writers Discussion to receive proper guidance from our staff and community.
Post Reply
User avatar
martti
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 4:50 pm
Location: Belgium

Database table names MUST have a prefix.

Post by martti »

Image

This is a bit retarded, isn't it?

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 1856
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:29 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: Database table names MUST have a prefix.

Post by DavidIQ »

Why?
Image

User avatar
martti
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 4:50 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Database table names MUST have a prefix.

Post by martti »

That database table names MUST have a prefix.
Last edited by martti on Thu Apr 23, 2020 9:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
david63
Registered User
Posts: 313
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 7:23 am
Location: Lancashire, UK

Re: Database table names MUST have a prefix.

Post by david63 »

But if, as some do, have multiple phpBB installs in the same database then you need the prefix to distinguish them.

It is probably a carry over from the days when many hosts only allowed one database in an account, unlike today where usually you can have several - if not unlimited.

The problem if the prefix was removed would be where you have the inexperienced user who creates multiple instances of phpBB in the same database - and there are still many of those around if you follow the support topics.
David
Remember: You only know what you know -
and you do not know what you do not know!

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 1856
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:29 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: Database table names MUST have a prefix.

Post by DavidIQ »

Besides what David said there is the problem of other systems living in the same database, like WordPress and Drupal. If there were no table prefixes then you'd have a big problem. Think of the users and posts table for instance which can be in WP as well.
Image

User avatar
martti
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 4:50 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Database table names MUST have a prefix.

Post by martti »

The problem is that phpBB is telling inexperienced people that throwing everything together in one database is the standard way to organise things. Better not feed ignorance.

Too much is carried over from the old days! When it's dustbin day, you'll need to put the dustbin out, otherwise the garbage piles up in the house.

The inexperienced user I would guide carefully in the direction of SQLite3. Super easy (hence the name "lite") and you can have as many as you like. There is also a nice program to manage it online, phpLiteAdmin.

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 1856
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:29 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: Database table names MUST have a prefix.

Post by DavidIQ »

Having separate databases for everything is not always possible so making assumptions about what a user can and cannot do with the plan they've purchased for their site, especially in the case of shared hosting, is not something we should do. There are other reasons too. What if I wanted to create a table or two for something else? With your logic I should be creating an entire database just for that. So no it's not a superfluous thing to ask for a table prefix during setup.
Image

Post Reply