A Couple Of Queries

Temporary forum to obtain support while phpBB.com is offline.
Please use the support forum on phpBB.com
Forum rules
Temporary forum to obtain support while phpBB.com is offline.
Please use the support forum on phpBB.com
User avatar
ric323
Registered User
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 1:09 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: A Couple Of Queries

Post by ric323 »

dr. sarf wrote:http://www.screampc.co.uk/coasterlog

You'll see the issue on the registration page.


Thanks
In your ACP, under the "SYSTEM" tab, click on "PHP information", then copy & paste here what it says under "gd".
e.g.
gd
GD Support enabled
GD Version bundled (2.0.28 compatible)
FreeType Support enabled
FreeType Linkage with freetype
GIF Read Support enabled
GIF Create Support enabled
JPG Support enabled
PNG Support enabled
WBMP Support enabled
XBM Support enabled
Also, have you ever edited any of the .php files in your language folders?
dr. sarf
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:30 pm

Re: A Couple Of Queries

Post by dr. sarf »

gd
GD Support enabled
GD Version bundled (2.0.34 compatible)
FreeType Support enabled
FreeType Linkage with freetype
FreeType Version 2.3.5
T1Lib Support enabled
GIF Read Support enabled
GIF Create Support enabled
JPG Support enabled
PNG Support enabled
WBMP Support enabled
XBM Support enabled


Yes, a few language files have been amended.
User avatar
ric323
Registered User
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 1:09 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: A Couple Of Queries

Post by ric323 »

dr. sarf wrote:...
Yes, a few language files have been amended.
What program did you edit them with?
Using notepad often causes the file to be damaged by violating this requirement mentioned at the start of the language files:
// DEVELOPERS PLEASE NOTE
//
// All language files should use UTF-8 as their encoding and the files must not contain a BOM.
Make a backup of tour current language files, and try loading originals from the full install package matching your version of phpBB, and see if the CAPTCHA image starts working.

(I have heard of a few instances where damaged language files cause the CAPTCHA image to not work.)
dr. sarf
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:30 pm

Re: A Couple Of Queries

Post by dr. sarf »

OK, I'll try that thanks. Yes notepad was used, but the encoding was kept to UTF-8 as far as I'm aware, I'll recheck and advise.

Thanks

edit: Each time the files were saved, UTF-8 encoding was chosen from within Notepad. Can this still cause the said damage to occur?
Last edited by dr. sarf on Wed Feb 04, 2009 11:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ric323
Registered User
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 1:09 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: A Couple Of Queries

Post by ric323 »

dr. sarf wrote:OK, I'll try that thanks. Yes notepad was used, but the encoding was kept to UTF-8 as far as I'm aware, I'll recheck and advise.

Thanks
Notepad does not have a "UTF-8 without BOM" option. If you selected "UTF8", then it DID add a BOM.
dr. sarf
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:30 pm

Re: A Couple Of Queries

Post by dr. sarf »

ric323 wrote:
dr. sarf wrote:OK, I'll try that thanks. Yes notepad was used, but the encoding was kept to UTF-8 as far as I'm aware, I'll recheck and advise.

Thanks
Notepad does not have a "UTF-8 without BOM" option. If you selected "UTF8", then it DID add a BOM.

Ah right, can you advise of a program that can encode without adding this?
User avatar
ric323
Registered User
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2007 1:09 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: A Couple Of Queries

Post by ric323 »

dr. sarf
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:30 pm

Re: A Couple Of Queries

Post by dr. sarf »

Thanks for all your help guys. Resaved the two language files in the correct format with Notepad++ and capthca is now working. Looks like it was common.php that caused the error.
pcollum
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 4:39 pm

Re: A Couple Of Queries

Post by pcollum »

ric323 wrote:
dr. sarf wrote:http://www.screampc.co.uk/coasterlog

You'll see the issue on the registration page.


Thanks
In your ACP, under the "SYSTEM" tab, click on "PHP information", then copy & paste here what it says under "gd".
e.g.
gd
GD Support enabled
GD Version bundled (2.0.28 compatible)
FreeType Support enabled
FreeType Linkage with freetype
GIF Read Support enabled
GIF Create Support enabled
JPG Support enabled
PNG Support enabled
WBMP Support enabled
XBM Support enabled
Also, have you ever edited any of the .php files in your language folders?
Okay I'm a total newb here. I took over management of our board from someone that is now unavailable. It appears that some users are able to see the CAPTCHA image, while others are not and only see the red "x" and can't register. I have CAPTCHA enabled for registrations. I don't think our language files have ever been edited.

Following these instructions I checked the PHP information page, but don't even have a "GD" listed anywhere. I'm not even sure what "GD" stands for or what it's used for (haven't been able to find an explaination online). Is this something I need?

Since the CAPTCHA problem only happens on some users' machines but not others, I suspect the problem with is related to a local setting for those machines (???). But I haven't been able to find a solution anywhere in the docs or here on these forums.

I know there is probably a totally easy and simple answer to all this, but that's what I get being a total newb! I'm using v3.0.3 (will be updating to 0.4 shortly). You can check out the forum at http://www.cvpoa.org/phpBB3/. Any help would be very much appreciated! Thanks.
Locked