How is the flash bbcode suppose to work?

Discussion of general topics related to the new version and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Forum rules
Discussion of general topics related to the new release and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
LEW21
Registered User
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 9:27 pm

Re: How is the flash bbcode suppose to work?

Post by LEW21 »

If you have UCP -> Preferences -> Viewing Posts -> "Display Flash animations:" set to "Yes" then you will see nothing and if it is set to "No" you will see [ flash ]. Guests have this option set to "No".
phpBB3.pl - user-friendly Polish phpBB3 support
Wizard.semfe
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 1:26 am

Re: How is the flash bbcode suppose to work?

Post by Wizard.semfe »

The flash code doesn't seem to be fixed.
All i see now is a white rectangular :(
Fost
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 5:14 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: How is the flash bbcode suppose to work?

Post by Fost »

It's not playing back - try right clicking on the block and choosing 'play'

I get the first frame of my test:



but it doesn't playback or loop. until I right click and set that.

Olympus generated code for above:

Code: Select all

<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://active.macromedia.com/flash2/cabs/swflash.cab#version=5,0,0,0" width="320" height="240">
	<param name="movie" value="http://www.moonpod.com/board/images/misc/Asimov_Walk.swf">
	<param name="play" value="1">
	<param name="loop" value="1">
	<param name="quality" value="high">
	<param name="allowScriptAccess" value="never">
	<embed src="http://www.moonpod.com/board/images/misc/Asimov_Walk.swf" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" width="320" height="240" play="1" loop="1" quality="high" allowscriptaccess="never"></embed>
</object>

I think it's the 'play' and 'loop' values - loop should be set to any of: 'on/off/true/false', I assume 'play' should be true or false. I'm guessing anything else gets set to false. Actually, if you remove these values, they default to true, so it would work.

hope that helps some.
User avatar
Highway of Life
Registered User
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 10:18 pm
Location: I'd love to change the World, but they won't give me the Source Code
Contact:

Re: How is the flash bbcode suppose to work?

Post by Highway of Life »

Fost wrote: It's not playing back - try right clicking on the block and choosing 'play'

I get the first frame of my test:

Code: Select all

[flash=320,240]http://www.moonpod.com/board/images/misc/Asimov_Walk.swf[/flash]
Okay, yes... I see it now. You have to right click and select play, and loop to get it to do both.

By default it should play and loop it, unless it was set to "1" as you said.
It should be set to "true"
Image
Wizard.semfe
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 1:26 am

Re: How is the flash bbcode suppose to work?

Post by Wizard.semfe »

Thank you
:D
Gumfuzi
Registered User
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 7:04 pm

Re: How is the flash bbcode suppose to work?

Post by Gumfuzi »

So with the latest CVS the bug of not displaying is fixed - and still there is a small "bug" of not automatically play and loop it?
What settings are needed to display it like here?
enable flash in UCP and forums? anything else?
Fost
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 5:14 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: How is the flash bbcode suppose to work?

Post by Fost »

Gumfuzi wrote: So with the latest CVS the bug of not displaying is fixed - and still there is a small "bug" of not automatically play and loop it?
No, it should now be fixed in cvs, see here. (PHPBB team are ninjas :) )
Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Infrastructure Team Leader
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 9:02 am
Contact:

Re: How is the flash bbcode suppose to work?

Post by Paul »

Gumfuzi wrote: So with the latest CVS the bug of not displaying is fixed - and still there is a small "bug" of not automatically play and loop it?
What settings are needed to display it like here?
enable flash in UCP and forums? anything else?
Thats a "bug" (feature :)) in internet explorer. Because a patent, a flash file cannot automaticcly start.
User avatar
naderman
Consultant
Posts: 1727
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 2:11 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: How is the flash bbcode suppose to work?

Post by naderman »

No, Flash doesn't have anything to do with ActiveX.
Gumfuzi
Registered User
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 7:04 pm

Re: How is the flash bbcode suppose to work?

Post by Gumfuzi »

Same problem was with Firefox - but great, Acyd has fixed this, thanks!!
Post Reply