Using the Bug Tracker

Want to share what MODs you've gotten to work with EM? Happy about all the time your're saving? Want to say "thanks"? Here's the place.
Forum rules
DO NOT give out any FTP passwords to anyone! There is no reason to do so! If you need help badly enough, create a temporary FTP account that is restricted to only the files that you need help with and give the information for that. Giving out FTP information can be very dangerous!
Locked
Nuttzy99
Registered User
Posts: 927
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2001 7:09 am
Contact:

Using the Bug Tracker

Post by Nuttzy99 »

Only I can create items that will be listed here. I will report on the status of the bugs as each case progressed. Others can feel free to chime in if they have something to add to a topic.

-Nuttzy 8)
SpellingCow.com - Free spell check service for your forums or any web form!
My Other Site

markus_petrux
Registered User
Posts: 376
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 10:58 pm
Location: Girona, Catalunya (Spain)
Contact:

Re: Using the Bug Tracker

Post by markus_petrux »

I do not really understand what do you mean by "chime in". So, I'm assuming you meant anyone can't create a topic here, but reply to an existing one.

Sorry, if I'm doing wrong, but I wanted to post a problem that makes some MODs re-apear in the list of unprocessed MODs for the ACP->MODs Center->Install MODs option.

This happens because the mod_title field is defined as VARCHAR(50) in the DB.

One of MODs the that falls into this problem is the Category Hierarchy MOD. Its name contains 51 and 58 characters for part 1 and 2, respectively.

Code: Select all

Categories hierarchy - part 1 (common to all setup)
123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901
         1         2         3         4         5

Categories hierarchy - part 2 (std admin forum management)
1234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678
         1         2         3         4         5
Why don't define this field as VARCHAR(255)?

For upgardes, the installation script could perform an ALTER sql statement or, if that is not supported for some RDBMs, then do it via create a temp table, insert from old, drop old, rename new table. ...or something.

User avatar
A_Jelly_Doughnut
Registered User
Posts: 1780
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2003 4:23 pm

Re: Using the Bug Tracker

Post by A_Jelly_Doughnut »

Marcus, that bug should be fixed in 0.0.13, however the MOD would have to have been installed in 0.0.13 for it to take effect.
A_Jelly_Doughnut

markus_petrux
Registered User
Posts: 376
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 10:58 pm
Location: Girona, Catalunya (Spain)
Contact:

Re: Using the Bug Tracker

Post by markus_petrux »

A_Jelly_Doughnut wrote:Marcus, that bug should be fixed in 0.0.13, however the MOD would have to have been installed in 0.0.13 for it to take effect.
Indeed, I was talking about 0.0.13.

selven
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 22, 2003 10:43 am

Re: Using the Bug Tracker

Post by selven »

confirmed bug persist in 0.0.1.3
fix is simple:
before instaling easymod:

Code: Select all

OPEN 

easymod_install.php

FIND

				mod_title varchar(50) NULL DEFAULT '',

REPLACE WITH

				mod_title varchar(255) NULL DEFAULT '',

FIND

				mod_title varchar(50) NULL DEFAULT '',

REPLACE WITH

				mod_title varchar(255) NULL DEFAULT '',

markus_petrux
Registered User
Posts: 376
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 10:58 pm
Location: Girona, Catalunya (Spain)
Contact:

Re: Using the Bug Tracker

Post by markus_petrux »

Hi, selven. Nice to see you here. :)

I was waiting for Nuttzy's response on this. However, he seems to be somehow busy...

Meanwhile, a couple of changes are also necessary in admin_easymod.php

Code: Select all

#
#---[ OPEN ]----------
#
admin/admin_easymod.php
#
#---[ FIND ]----------
#
		WHERE mod_title = '" . substr( $mod_title, 0, 100) . "' 
#
#---[ REPLACE WITH ]----------
#
		WHERE mod_title = '" . substr( $mod_title, 0, 255) . "' 
#
#---[ FIND ]----------
#
	$mod_title = str_replace("'", "''", substr( $mod_title, 0, 50)) ;
#
#---[ REPLACE WITH ]----------
#
	$mod_title = str_replace("'", "''", substr( $mod_title, 0, 255)) ;
#
#---[ SAVE ]----------
#

Locked