Dependency Management: Composer

General discussion of development ideas and the approaches taken in the 3.x branch of phpBB. The next feature release of phpBB 3 will be 3.2/Rhea followed by 3.3.
Forum rules
Please do not post support questions regarding installing, updating, or upgrading phpBB 3.1. If you need support for phpBB 3.1 please visit the 3.1.x Support Forum on phpbb.com.

If you have questions regarding writing extensions please post in Extension Writers Discussion to receive proper guidance from our staff and community.
Post Reply
User avatar
MichaelC
Development Team
Development Team
Posts: 889
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 6:29 pm

Re: Dependency Management: Composer

Post by MichaelC » Sat Nov 03, 2012 11:23 pm

Arty wrote:I've tried running composer.phar on Windows in phpBB directory and ran into this problem:

Code: Select all

  - Installing symfony/config (v2.1.0-RC1)
    Downloading: connection...


  [Composer\Downloader\TransportException]
  The "http://nodeload.github.com/symfony/Config/zipball/v2.1.0-RC1" file could not be downloaded (HTTP/1.1 404 Not Found)
Travis had the problem earlier, the url it was using was incorrect for some reason.
Formerly known as Unknown Bliss
psoTFX wrote: I went with Olympus because as I said to the teams ... "It's been one hell of a hill to climb"
No unsolicited PMs please except for quotes.

User avatar
brunoais
Registered User
Posts: 958
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:55 pm

Re: Dependency Management: Composer

Post by brunoais » Mon Nov 05, 2012 10:15 am

I'm having this problem:

Code: Select all

$ php ../composer.phar install
This dev build of composer is outdated, please run "../composer.phar self-update
" to get the latest version.

$ php ../composer.phar self-update
Updating to version 99b7ab4.
    Downloading: 100%
	
$ php ../composer.phar install
Loading composer repositories with package information
Installing dependencies from lock file
  - Updating symfony/event-dispatcher (2.0.x-dev 69f86e4 => v2.1.0-RC1)
    Checking out v2.1.0-RC1



  [RuntimeException]
  Failed to clone http://github.com/symfony/EventDispatcher via git, https an
  d http protocols, aborting.

  - git://github.com/symfony/EventDispatcher
    fatal: No such remote 'composer'

  - https://github.com/symfony/EventDispatcher
    fatal: No such remote 'composer'

  - http://github.com/symfony/EventDispatcher
    fatal: No such remote 'composer'

install [--prefer-source] [--prefer-dist] [--dry-run] [--dev] [--no-custom-installers] [--no-scripts] [-v|--verbose] [-o|--optimize-autoloader]

Not until this is solved I cannot do QA work properly. I can only do code checks.

User avatar
EXreaction
Registered User
Posts: 1555
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:15 am

Re: Dependency Management: Composer

Post by EXreaction » Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:12 pm

RFC to include vendor: viewtopic.php?f=108&t=43563

User avatar
Arty
Registered User
Posts: 970
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 2:36 pm
Location: Mars
Contact:

Re: Dependency Management: Composer

Post by Arty » Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:17 pm

@brunoais Try files in attachment. Unpack it to phpBB directory.
Attachments
vendor.zip
(330.06 KiB) Downloaded 1574 times
Formerly known as CyberAlien.

Free phpBB styles | Premium responsive XenForo styles

User avatar
brunoais
Registered User
Posts: 958
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:55 pm

Re: Dependency Management: Composer

Post by brunoais » Mon Nov 05, 2012 10:23 pm

Which steps did you take to get those files?

User avatar
Arty
Registered User
Posts: 970
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2002 2:36 pm
Location: Mars
Contact:

Re: Dependency Management: Composer

Post by Arty » Mon Nov 05, 2012 11:27 pm

brunoais wrote:Which steps did you take to get those files?
Updated old vendor directory instead of creating new one.
Formerly known as CyberAlien.

Free phpBB styles | Premium responsive XenForo styles

User avatar
brunoais
Registered User
Posts: 958
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:55 pm

Re: Dependency Management: Composer

Post by brunoais » Tue Nov 06, 2012 7:43 am

Where were those files you used to update, then?

User avatar
imkingdavid
Registered User
Posts: 1050
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 12:06 pm

Re: Dependency Management: Composer

Post by imkingdavid » Tue Nov 06, 2012 12:49 pm

brunoais wrote:Where were those files you used to update, then?
He had already done the composer install command. Apparently all he did was run the composer update command with a non-empty vendor directory. So the files he used to update were in the vendor folder from before.
I do custom MODs. PM for a quote!
View My: MODs | Portfolio
Please do NOT contact for support via PM or email.
Remember, the enemy's gate is down.

User avatar
MichaelC
Development Team
Development Team
Posts: 889
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 6:29 pm

Re: Dependency Management: Composer

Post by MichaelC » Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:23 pm

imkingdavid wrote:
brunoais wrote:Where were those files you used to update, then?
He had already done the composer install command. Apparently all he did was run the composer update command with a non-empty vendor directory. So the files he used to update were in the vendor folder from before.
No, php ../composer.phar update changes the .lock file, you should only ever use php ../composer.phar install unless you need to update the version used because your developing a feature. php ../composer.phar install looks to see if there have been any differences between your packages.json in your vendor/ and the composer.lock and if so then it updates any relevant libs to the version specified in the composer.lock. Then if there isn't any packages.json it will install all dependencies.
Formerly known as Unknown Bliss
psoTFX wrote: I went with Olympus because as I said to the teams ... "It's been one hell of a hill to climb"
No unsolicited PMs please except for quotes.

shoes22
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2006 9:20 pm

Re: Dependency Management: Composer

Post by shoes22 » Wed Jan 30, 2013 11:28 pm

So if I'm understanding correctly, use of Symfony/Composer will be phased out by the time an alpha or beta of 3.1 is released, correct?
How exactly is this going to work? I'm just curious because right now I see a LOT of code being tied into it. Especially functions related stuff.
And after a quick browse of this thread I found that including the /vendor folder in develop was rejected as an RFC.
Last edited by shoes22 on Thu Jan 31, 2013 1:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply