Setting up environment in phpbb.

Discuss general development subjects that are not specific to a particular version like the versioning control system we use or other infrastructure.
Post Reply
yasara
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 7:03 pm

Setting up environment in phpbb.

Post by yasara » Tue Mar 14, 2017 1:05 am

I have an issue with setting up the phpbb project after cloning it. It asks me to fill following details.
  • Database Name
  • Database Password
  • Database username
But I couldn't figure out which database name and the password they expect need to enter here as I don't have any database related to phpbb. Can someone help me with this ?

User avatar
P_I
Registered User
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2014 4:56 am

Re: Setting up environment in phpbb.

Post by P_I » Tue Mar 14, 2017 4:43 am

You should probably start with https://www.phpbb.com/support/docs/en/3.2/ug/.

User avatar
JimA
Community Team Leader
Community Team Leader
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 2:29 pm

Re: Setting up environment in phpbb.

Post by JimA » Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:07 pm

Also, this is our development board where we talk about the development of future versions fo phpBB. While we're happy to help, it would be much better for you to ask these kinds of support questions on our main board, over at http://phpbb.com/community.

Most of the people involved in support frequent that board and not this one. ;)
Image Jim Mossing Holsteyn - Moderator Team Member
Knowledge Base | Documentation | Board rules

No support here on Area51, please visit the Support forums over at phpBB.com

yasara
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2017 7:03 pm

Re: Setting up environment in phpbb.

Post by yasara » Wed Mar 15, 2017 3:31 am

Thank you very much for your help JimA. I will look into that.

Sorry for using this discussion panel for this type of a question. Next time I 'll use http://phpbb.com/community.

User avatar
rubencm
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 8:30 pm

Re: Setting up environment in phpbb.

Post by rubencm » Wed Mar 15, 2017 9:11 am

If you want to setup phpBB for development, you can use Vagrant

delarno
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:06 pm

Re: Setting up environment in phpbb.

Post by delarno » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:17 pm

I don't know if you already found the information you needed but this article can be greatly helpful: https://www.phpbb.com/support/docs/en/3 ... tallation/
Last edited by bonelifer on Thu Sep 28, 2017 7:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Fixed URL

Post Reply