[RFC] Define max-width for prosilver

These requests for comments/change have lead to an implemented feature that has been successfully merged into the 3.1/Ascraeus branch. Everything listed in this forum will be available in phpBB 3.1.
Locked
User avatar
Pete77s
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 4:55 am

Re: Define max-width for prosilver

Post by Pete77s »

I agree, An option in the ACP is unnecessary. Tried testing it out in common.css myself and it breaks the responsiveness of the theme.
Could someone shed some light on the the best way to set max-width in prosilver for testing purposes?


Actually light border and shadow wouldn't be so bad +1 to that. Anything but image corners :)

User avatar
FloFlo91
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 4:06 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: Define max-width for prosilver

Post by FloFlo91 »

Pete77s wrote:I agree, An option in the ACP is unnecessary. Tried testing it out in common.css myself and it breaks the responsiveness of the theme.
Could someone shed some light on the the best way to set max-width in prosilver for testing purposes?

Actually light border and shadow wouldn't be so bad +1 to that. Anything but image corners :)
Just add those two CSS rules on the #wrap :

Code: Select all

max-width: 1152px;
margin: 0 auto;
It's fine to me.

User avatar
PayBas
Registered User
Posts: 305
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Define max-width for prosilver

Post by PayBas »

Pete77s wrote:Could someone shed some light on the the best way to set max-width in prosilver for testing purposes?
Or just pull this: https://github.com/phpbb/phpbb/pull/2533/files

User avatar
Pete77s
Registered User
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 4:55 am

Re: Define max-width for prosilver

Post by Pete77s »

Thanks PayBas :)

User avatar
Sumanai
Registered User
Posts: 95
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 11:12 am

Re: Define max-width for prosilver

Post by Sumanai »

PayBas, Why not a variant from this post?
In my opinion, it looks better.
Sorry for my English.

User avatar
PayBas
Registered User
Posts: 305
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Define max-width for prosilver

Post by PayBas »

Sumanai wrote:PayBas, Why not a variant from this post?
In my opinion, it looks better.
Because everyone wants something different and I don't feel like changing it 10 times.

I'll wait until some of the devs make a clear preference, and change it then.

User avatar
FloFlo91
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 4:06 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Re: Define max-width for prosilver

Post by FloFlo91 »

For me, PaysBas did the best version, it's the best compromise In my opinion.

You did a good job. ;)

User avatar
Master_Cylinder
Registered User
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:54 pm

Re: Define max-width for prosilver

Post by Master_Cylinder »

I want mine as wide as possible, with as little padding as possible.
These kids today...
Buy them books, send them to school and what do they do?

They eat the paste. :lol:

User avatar
Louis7777
Registered User
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:32 am

Re: Define max-width for prosilver

Post by Louis7777 »

Master_Cylinder wrote:I want mine as wide as possible, with as little padding as possible.
Would you like some syrup with your pudding, sir? :P

That's how I prefer it too, but personally I'm fine if you guys set a max-width. I usually have a phpbb portal or some cms as the homepage and I set a max-width for that, while I keep the forums as wide as possible.

Also, I don't think there's anything wrong with the way it is now.

User avatar
Master_Cylinder
Registered User
Posts: 361
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:54 pm

Re: Define max-width for prosilver

Post by Master_Cylinder »

I just don't have a desire to make it small/ugly like phpbb.com does.
These kids today...
Buy them books, send them to school and what do they do?

They eat the paste. :lol:

Locked