[RFC] Update jQuery included in 3.1 to 1.11.0

These requests for comments/change have lead to an implemented feature that has been successfully merged into the 3.1/Ascraeus branch. Everything listed in this forum will be available in phpBB 3.1.
User avatar
Louis7777
Registered User
Posts: 378
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:32 am

Re: [RFC] Update jQuery included in 3.1 to 1.11.0

Post by Louis7777 » Fri May 16, 2014 4:22 pm

M.Gaetan89 wrote:What do you think about using the newly released jQuery 1.11.1?
+1 , especially because I have OCD and I'd like all digits to be 1 :D

User avatar
PayBas
Registered User
Posts: 305
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: [RFC] Update jQuery included in 3.1 to 1.11.0

Post by PayBas » Fri May 16, 2014 4:32 pm

Louis7777 wrote:
M.Gaetan89 wrote:What do you think about using the newly released jQuery 1.11.1?
+1 , especially because I have OCD and I'd like all digits to be 1 :D
I don't see how we could refuse. Flawless logic.

User avatar
Louis7777
Registered User
Posts: 378
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:32 am

Re: [RFC] Update jQuery included in 3.1 to 1.11.0

Post by Louis7777 » Wed Jun 18, 2014 8:50 am

Ressurecting this because of something that I've noticed.

From http://www.w3schools.com/jsref/jsref_unescape.asp
The unescape() function was deprecated in JavaScript version 1.5. Use decodeURI() or decodeURIComponent() instead.
We use that to load jQuery from a local directory in case that the google CDN is not available:

Code: Select all

<script type="text/javascript">window.jQuery || document.write(unescape('%3Cscript src="./assets/javascript/jquery.min.js?assets_version=1713" type="text/javascript"%3E%3C/script%3E'));</script>
Should we replace unescape()?

User avatar
VSE
Extension Customisations
Extension Customisations
Posts: 670
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 9:18 am

Re: [RFC] Update jQuery included in 3.1 to 1.11.0

Post by VSE » Wed Jun 18, 2014 4:42 pm

It can actually be written:

Code: Select all

<script>window.jQuery || document.write('<script src="./assets/javascript/jquery.min.js?assets_version=1713"><\/script>');</script>
This is how HTML5BoilerPlate has promoted doing it for over the past 3 years.
There was some resistance to this simpler form here for some reason before, I think it had something to do with XML. But I don't know if we are past that now or what.
Has an irascible disposition.

User avatar
PayBas
Registered User
Posts: 305
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: [RFC] Update jQuery included in 3.1 to 1.11.0

Post by PayBas » Wed Jun 18, 2014 9:33 pm

Ticket to change it? or not worth it?

User avatar
VSE
Extension Customisations
Extension Customisations
Posts: 670
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 9:18 am

Re: [RFC] Update jQuery included in 3.1 to 1.11.0

Post by VSE » Wed Jun 18, 2014 11:42 pm

At least change unescape to one of the decodeURI methods.
Has an irascible disposition.

User avatar
Louis7777
Registered User
Posts: 378
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:32 am

Re: [RFC] Update jQuery included in 3.1 to 1.11.0

Post by Louis7777 » Thu Jun 19, 2014 4:51 pm

PayBas wrote:Ticket to change it? or not worth it?
Worth it :)

User avatar
callumacrae
Infrastructure Team
Infrastructure Team
Posts: 1046
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 9:37 am
Location: England
Contact:

Re: [RFC] Update jQuery included in 3.1 to 1.11.0

Post by callumacrae » Mon Jun 23, 2014 5:43 pm

Does jQuery use semver?
Made by developers, for developers!
My blog

Post Reply