[RFC|Merged] Allow customisation of "Board index"

These requests for comments/change have lead to an implemented feature that has been successfully merged into the 3.1/Ascraeus branch. Everything listed in this forum will be available in phpBB 3.1.
User avatar
tmbackoff
Registered User
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 3:25 am

[RFC|Merged] Allow customisation of "Board index"

Post by tmbackoff » Tue Mar 26, 2013 12:30 am

OK, so in phpBB 3.1, it's now possible to have a home button that points to another link (either on the same site or a different one). For those who use the forums with their site, I think it would be helpful to be able to change the name "Board index" to something of the user's choice. For example, phpBB.com's forums are under /community, so when 3.1 goes on the website, the link could look like this: phpBB.com < Community < ... breadcrumbs as needed, etc, etc.... Obviously, if the user doesn't decide to change the name, it could fall back on "Board index".

This should be simple to add before 3.1 gets pushed out - just add a config var to the SQL, and ACP field, and then add template vars to to change the name accordingly.

Is there any interest in this?
Last edited by tmbackoff on Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: better topic title, and moved

User avatar
ForumsFaciles
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jun 05, 2010 10:49 pm
Location: On Ascraeus
Contact:

Re: [RFC] Dynamic index name

Post by ForumsFaciles » Tue Mar 26, 2013 12:40 am

Hi,

I agree +1

It would be nice to be able to define our own index name.

Thx for the idea :wink:

Oleg
Posts: 1150
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 2:38 am
Contact:

Re: [RFC] Dynamic index name

Post by Oleg » Tue Mar 26, 2013 4:03 am

If the "home button" text is customizable, board index might as well also be.

User avatar
imkingdavid
Registered User
Posts: 1050
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 12:06 pm

Re: [RFC] Dynamic index name

Post by imkingdavid » Tue Mar 26, 2013 1:30 pm

This sounds reasonable to me.
I do custom MODs. PM for a quote!
View My: MODs | Portfolio
Please do NOT contact for support via PM or email.
Remember, the enemy's gate is down.

Senky
Extension Customisations
Extension Customisations
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 4:41 pm

Re: [RFC] Dynamic index name

Post by Senky » Tue Mar 26, 2013 2:28 pm

+1

User avatar
Jessica.
Registered User
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:17 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Contact:

Re: [RFC] Dynamic index name

Post by Jessica. » Tue Mar 26, 2013 3:42 pm

Great idea +1

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 1731
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:29 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: [RFC] Dynamic index name

Post by DavidIQ » Tue Mar 26, 2013 6:57 pm

In 3.1 (similar process in 3.0 but a different tab): ACP -> Customise -> Language packs -> Click on any installed language
I don't thing we should be taking individual entries from this page and further duplicating them elsewhere.
-1
Image

User avatar
Vinny
Style Customisations
Style Customisations
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 4:01 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: [RFC] Dynamic index name

Post by Vinny » Tue Mar 26, 2013 7:06 pm

DavidIQ wrote:In 3.1 (similar process in 3.0 but a different tab): ACP -> Customise -> Language packs -> Click on any installed language
I don't thing we should be taking individual entries from this page and further duplicating them elsewhere.
-1
+1

User avatar
tmbackoff
Registered User
Posts: 180
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 3:25 am

Re: [RFC] Dynamic index name

Post by tmbackoff » Tue Mar 26, 2013 7:44 pm

Yup, just makes it harder.
Language entries

Here you are able to change existing language pack entries or not already translated ones.
Note: Once you changed a language file, the changes will be stored within a separate folder for you to download. The changes will not be seen by your users until you replace the original language files at your webspace (by uploading them).

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 1731
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:29 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: [RFC] Dynamic index name

Post by DavidIQ » Tue Mar 26, 2013 7:49 pm

I sort of missed that part, however the administrator can use the "Submit and upload file" option so the changes would get applied right away using that method.
Image

Post Reply