Placeholder for search box.

These requests for comments/change have lead to an implemented feature that has been successfully merged into the 3.1/Ascraeus branch. Everything listed in this forum will be available in phpBB 3.1.
User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 1834
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:29 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: Placeholder for search box.

Post by DavidIQ »

callumacrae wrote:Also, with "Search" it isn't too clear what the box does.
So maybe while we're at it a title attribute could be added to the search box with an explanation of what the box does.
Image

User avatar
callumacrae
Former Team Member
Posts: 1046
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 9:37 am
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Placeholder for search box.

Post by callumacrae »

That was supposed to say "without". Fixing now - I think it's clear enough when the placeholder is displayed.
Made by developers, for developers!
My blog

User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:08 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Placeholder for search box.

Post by Dragosvr92 »

3.1.0 already has a title attribute, 3.0.10 doesnt...

Code: Select all

<input type="text" onblur="if(this.value=='')this.value='Search…';" onclick="if(this.value=='Search…')this.value='';" value="Search…" class="inputbox search" title="Search for keywords" maxlength="128" id="keywords" name="keywords"> 
Previous user: TheKiller
Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3

User avatar
naderman
Consultant
Posts: 1727
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 2:11 am
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany
Contact:

Re: Placeholder for search box.

Post by naderman »

From a functional perspective this is an unnecessary neat UI addition, so I think all JS can be dropped entirely in favour of the new attribute. There's no need for a fallback here.

User avatar
Vinny
Style Customisations
Style Customisations
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 4:01 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Placeholder for search box.

Post by Vinny »

I'm preparing this change, and want to know: Is someone working on this?

User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:08 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Placeholder for search box.

Post by Dragosvr92 »

This will be only added in Ascraeus, right?
Previous user: TheKiller
Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3

User avatar
Vinny
Style Customisations
Style Customisations
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 4:01 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Placeholder for search box.

Post by Vinny »

TheKiller wrote:This will be only added in Ascraeus, right?
Placeholder is an new attribute of HTML5 and only Ascraeus use this doctype, so... the answer is yes.

User avatar
brunoais
Registered User
Posts: 964
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:55 pm

Re: Placeholder for search box.

Post by brunoais »

Vinny wrote:
TheKiller wrote:This will be only added in Ascraeus, right?
Placeholder is an new attribute of HTML5 and only Ascraeus use this doctype, so... the answer is yes.
*coff* see source code of this page *coff* see the source code of prosilver (in phpBB 3.1-dev).

User avatar
callumacrae
Former Team Member
Posts: 1046
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 9:37 am
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Placeholder for search box.

Post by callumacrae »

brunoais wrote:
Vinny wrote:
TheKiller wrote:This will be only added in Ascraeus, right?
Placeholder is an new attribute of HTML5 and only Ascraeus use this doctype, so... the answer is yes.
*coff* see source code of this page *coff* see the source code of prosilver (in phpBB 3.1-dev).
What?
Made by developers, for developers!
My blog

User avatar
brunoais
Registered User
Posts: 964
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2009 3:55 pm

Re: Placeholder for search box.

Post by brunoais »

^
Sorry mixed up names. AGAIN! :oops:

Post Reply