Contributing: You can do it too!

General discussion of development ideas and the approaches taken in the 3.x branch of phpBB. The current feature release of phpBB 3 is 3.3/Proteus.
Forum rules
Please do not post support questions regarding installing, updating, or upgrading phpBB 3.3.x. If you need support for phpBB 3.3.x please visit the 3.3.x Support Forum on phpbb.com.

If you have questions regarding writing extensions please post in Extension Writers Discussion to receive proper guidance from our staff and community.
User avatar
mrgoldy
Development Team
Development Team
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2015 9:41 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Contributing: You can do it too!

Post by mrgoldy »

Thanks for the feedback, Fanchen.
The possible commands are not really listed in any particular order, but I suppose I should mention that it is a good thing to run the setup command first, before other. Especially as it really only is a command that has to be run once.

Once again, thank you. And I hope you're enjoying working with it.
phpBB Studio Proud member of the Studio!

TWEagle
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 6:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Contributing: You can do it too!

Post by TWEagle »

hey mrgoldy

when I try to install it via the info you said here
install
Command: sh studio install
Parameters: none
Example: sh studio install
Explanation:
This will take care of the 'database setup' of your local board.
It ensures all the correct tables are installed, with the correct columns and default values.
For this command the $phpbb_functional_url is required in the test_config.php file.
This ensures that we can re-install the board, overriding an existing installation.
To accomplish this, the studio script makes use of the functional tests provided by phpBB,
which do not have to be of further concern to you for the sake of using the studio script.
The credentials for the admin account on the local board are:
username: admin
password: adminadmin
then it says

Code: Select all

PHP Fatal error:  Composer dependencies have not been set up yet, run 'php ../composer.phar install' from the phpBB directory to do so. in D:\Ampps\www\phpbbfork\phpBB\includes\startup.php on line 80

Fatal error: Composer dependencies have not been set up yet, run 'php ../composer.phar install' from the phpBB directory to do so. in D:\Ampps\www\phpbbfork\phpBB\includes\startup.php on line 80
Is this normal?

User avatar
Crizzo
Translations & International Support Teams Manager
Translations & International Support Teams Manager
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 11:57 am

Re: Contributing: You can do it too!

Post by Crizzo »

Yes, you need to install the dependecies before you can use phpBB from that github-repository. Just run the displayed command: php ../composer.phar install

User avatar
mrgoldy
Development Team
Development Team
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2015 9:41 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Contributing: You can do it too!

Post by mrgoldy »

Crizzo wrote:
Mon May 11, 2020 6:19 pm
Yes, you need to install the dependecies before you can use phpBB from that github-repository. Just run the displayed command: php ../composer.phar install
It's the entire point of this script to make it easier, so that should not be necessary.

@TWEagle,
Have a look at the command above it: switch.

"Each branch has its own code, database setup and dependencies (the vendor folder).
This command takes care of the code and dependencies, for the database setup you will have to use the install command."


So you'll first have to run sh studio switch <branch>.
This command will afterwards automatically ask if you want to 'Install the board'.
phpBB Studio Proud member of the Studio!

Post Reply