Show Quick links menu on hover, not on click

General discussion of development ideas and the approaches taken in the 3.x branch of phpBB. The next feature release of phpBB 3 will be 3.3/Proteus.
Forum rules
Please do not post support questions regarding installing, updating, or upgrading phpBB 3.2.x. If you need support for phpBB 3.2.x please visit the 3.2.x Support Forum on phpbb.com.

If you have questions regarding writing extensions please post in Extension Writers Discussion to receive proper guidance from our staff and community.
User avatar
PayBas
Registered User
Posts: 305
Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Show Quick links menu on hover, not on click

Post by PayBas » Fri Nov 28, 2014 4:59 pm

Dragosvr92 wrote:Disabling javascript doesnt make it work as intended, does it ? The hover is a side effect and it only uses the simple css hover effect.
I cant say i dislike it terribly. But we should set it up properly with javascript to add the same delay effect that phpbb.com has on its menu and it is perfect...
It's not a "side effect", it's intentional ;).

Whether the dropdowns should open upon click or mouse-over is mostly a personal preference thing I think. I personally prefer it the way it is. And every time you use mouse-over, you have to think carefully how it will affect touch devices.

In any case. The behavior should be relatively easy to change yourself. It might be useful as a knowledge-base article.

User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:08 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Show Quick links menu on hover, not on click

Post by Dragosvr92 » Fri Nov 28, 2014 5:42 pm

PayBas wrote:
Dragosvr92 wrote:Disabling javascript doesnt make it work as intended, does it ? The hover is a side effect and it only uses the simple css hover effect.
I cant say i dislike it terribly. But we should set it up properly with javascript to add the same delay effect that phpbb.com has on its menu and it is perfect...
It's not a "side effect", it's intentional ;).
Yes an no.... I am guessing that without javascript, clicking the link wont show the menu, so it reverses to simple css hover to display it.


I agree that i can be a personal preference, but the main preference is to show it on mouse-over as it gets much faster.
Having to click the menu each time you want to access Your/New posts can get a little.. anoying. :)
Previous user: TheKiller
Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3

User avatar
VSE
Extension Customisations
Extension Customisations
Posts: 670
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 9:18 am

Re: Show Quick links menu on hover, not on click

Post by VSE » Fri Nov 28, 2014 6:25 pm

Dragosvr92 wrote:but the main preference is to show it on mouse-over as it gets much faster.
Having to click the menu each time you want to access Your/New posts can get a little.. anoying. :)
Having everything be hover triggered would be super annoying, having things appear/disappear constantly as you move around the screen. The current behavior is much more user friendly. Particularly since those drop-downs are not something you need to make constant use of while using the forum. Even facebook (which seems to be referenced to a lot here in terms of UI talk) requires clicks to show their drop down menus.
Has an irascible disposition.

User avatar
hanakin
Front-End Dev Team Lead
Front-End Dev Team Lead
Posts: 905
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 9:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Show Quick links menu on hover, not on click

Post by hanakin » Fri Nov 28, 2014 10:28 pm

don't forget bootstrap VSE it too has click required. Hover should be used from a UI aspect only to display additional information not as a mean to interact with. So for example hovering over a topic link could reveal a popup with a small window showing the first/recent post etc.
Donations welcome via Paypal Image

User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:08 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Show Quick links menu on hover, not on click

Post by Dragosvr92 » Sat Nov 29, 2014 3:33 am

VSE wrote:
Dragosvr92 wrote:but the main preference is to show it on mouse-over as it gets much faster.
Having to click the menu each time you want to access Your/New posts can get a little.. anoying. :)
Having everything be hover triggered would be super annoying, having things appear/disappear constantly as you move around the screen. The current behavior is much more user friendly. Particularly since those drop-downs are not something you need to make constant use of while using the forum. Even facebook (which seems to be referenced to a lot here in terms of UI talk) requires clicks to show their drop down menus.
VSE, They dont appear/disappear on any fast mouse-over, but only if you leave your mouse in a specific place for about a full second..
Please tell me.. were you ever bugged by the dropdown menus that the phpbb.com forums have? I sincerely do not think you did.

I am only talking about having the on mouse-over on the Quick links. Not on everything. But the "everything" would only be the Notifications and user info. And i dont see what would be wrong to have it added on them.

The links you are talking on fb are the Friends requests, Messages and ActivityNotifs. You only need to check these rarely.

In my opinion the QL are made use of constantly and are like the access points of the forums.
If you want to check both your posts and new posts, you have to click to see the menu twice.

People simply got used to have all these links at their disposal without doing anything else.
As it was said, this can be a user preference, and in my opinion it should be set by default. Thats for the devs to decide, but even so, there should be an option to tick/chose this from the UCP.

Everyone that posted here only seems to complain that.. What if the feature gets badly implemented... It wont. Why would it. if it does, we can complain afterwards. I cant understand this argument. :|
Previous user: TheKiller
Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3

User avatar
Louis7777
Registered User
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:32 am

Re: Show Quick links menu on hover, not on click

Post by Louis7777 » Sat Nov 29, 2014 6:45 am

Another thing. I can do all those moves with my mouse to get to the Active topics on the QL menu without fearing that the menu will close:
screenie.png
(140.41 KiB) Downloaded 283 times
Priceless comfort.

User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:08 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Show Quick links menu on hover, not on click

Post by Dragosvr92 » Sat Nov 29, 2014 7:25 am

Louis7777 wrote:Another thing. I can do all those moves with my mouse to get to the Active topics on the QL menu without fearing that the menu will close:
screenie.png
Priceless comfort.
Yes, i was aware. But If you load Both your posts and new posts at once from the menu, the later page wont display anything and you have to reload it. I prefer to load the later after im done with the first, so the menu is accessed again. Cut that. This seems to have changed in 3.1.2

Point is that all links in the QL menu are vital to forum browsing and clicking Each time to see them can get frustrating.
Previous user: TheKiller
Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3

User avatar
VSE
Extension Customisations
Extension Customisations
Posts: 670
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 9:18 am

Re: Show Quick links menu on hover, not on click

Post by VSE » Sat Nov 29, 2014 11:10 pm

Dragosvr92 wrote:The links you are talking on fb are the Friends requests, Messages and ActivityNotifs. You only need to check these rarely.
No, I was talking about every single drop down menu on facebook. You say those only need to be checked rarely. Well, anybody could say the same for the Quick Links menu too. One user's experience is not the same as another user's experience.

phpBB's current UI implementation for drop down menus is industry standard and a UI best practice. The point is to stay out of the user's way until called upon, not to insist itself upon the user with unexpected interactions.

Why Hover Menus Do Users More Harm Than Good

But if this is still a functionality you want so bad, request or write your own extension for it, or request or write your own style for it.
Has an irascible disposition.

User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:08 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Show Quick links menu on hover, not on click

Post by Dragosvr92 » Sun Nov 30, 2014 2:29 pm

As far as i know, facebook only has a dropdown menu on those 3 buttons.

No they cant say the same for the QL Menu.
The View your posts and new posts.. links are the first links that people need to access when visiting the forums.

On fb, theres a wall that lists all the news and you only access the 3 dropdown menus when you get new activity. They are also more like a button than a link which i find ok to click. This is a functionality that phpbb should provide users, even if it is not activated by default. I am pretty sure that every 3.0 user finds it annoying to click the bloody menu to access something they only had on a mouse click before.
Previous user: TheKiller
Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3

User avatar
Louis7777
Registered User
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 12:32 am

Re: Show Quick links menu on hover, not on click

Post by Louis7777 » Mon Dec 01, 2014 5:52 pm

Dragosvr92 wrote: The View your posts and new posts.. links are the first links that people need to access when visiting the forums.
What if I told you that I almost never use them?

Post Reply