It's not a MOD, it's a feature package

General discussion of development ideas and the approaches taken in the 3.x branch of phpBB. The current feature release of phpBB 3 is 3.3/Proteus.
Forum rules
Please do not post support questions regarding installing, updating, or upgrading phpBB 3.3.x. If you need support for phpBB 3.3.x please visit the 3.3.x Support Forum on phpbb.com.

If you have questions regarding writing extensions please post in Extension Writers Discussion to receive proper guidance from our staff and community.
Bycoja

It's not a MOD, it's a feature package

Post by Bycoja »

Hi everyone,
as I'm not so much into the current development of 3.1, I'll just barge in with my idea.

As a MOD author I often struggle with the features my MODs offer. One the hand, I would like to follow the kiss rule (keep it sweet and simple) and don't include too many options. On the other hand, I try to consider the user's feedback which results in more features almost inevitably and comes along with higher memory usage, additional database queries, more required space, etc.
This bloats the mod with a lot of features which might be useful for some people, but even more useless for others (how surprising, huh?) thus increasing the need for a more flexible mod integration in order to avoid the problems of having features you don't necessarily need. What I was thinking of at this point is to replace the current "sink or swim" mod system with feature packages. Especially with AutoMOD users could easily choose which features of a mod they like and which ones they don't want to have when installing the mod - just unselect these.