Philosophical question to phpBB developers

General discussion of development ideas and the approaches taken in the 3.x branch of phpBB. The current feature release of phpBB 3 is 3.3/Proteus.
Forum rules
Please do not post support questions regarding installing, updating, or upgrading phpBB 3.3.x. If you need support for phpBB 3.3.x please visit the 3.3.x Support Forum on phpbb.com.

If you have questions regarding writing extensions please post in Extension Writers Discussion to receive proper guidance from our staff and community.
bolverk
I've been banned

Philosophical question to phpBB developers

Post by bolverk »

Since the question I specifically addressed to the development team cannot seem to be respected by those here whom I did not ask for a response from, I will take it up with them privately.
Last edited by bolverk on Sun Dec 20, 2009 7:04 pm, edited 2 times in total.

jwxie

Re: Philosophical question to phpBB developers

Post by jwxie »

I am not a phpBB developer (they are great programmers!)
With Wordpress, I think they are now moving toward expanding its core features, which I am very disappointed. I'd like to compare Python to C++ :lol:

Although Python 3.0 has a lot of changes, which users are having a lot of problem to re-write all of them into 3.0, but Python's philosophy hasn't change at all. Their syntax are still very simple and absolutely fewer than those in C++. They keep python library simple but elegant. You are encourage to write your own library - one of the major reasons why people choose to write python application over c++ for most part. Of course, when it comes to heavy support, which may require complex algorithm and performance, people would probably choose c++ and other languages over python.

Is my comparison valid for phpBB? :lol: