Deleting Messages

Temporary forum to obtain support while phpBB.com is offline.
Please use the support forum on phpBB.com
Forum rules
Temporary forum to obtain support while phpBB.com is offline.
Please use the support forum on phpBB.com
aquajoc

Deleting Messages

Post by aquajoc »

Hi

I am very new to PhpBB and just started a forum at Removed
As you could imagine I am getting allot fo SPAM.

My first question is very simple - where do I go to delete the SPAM messages. When I log into the admin account it does not seem to have anywhere that I can go to view and delete messages.

secondly, is there a way to better protect my site from the Spammers?

Thanks for your help!

Steve
Last edited by Brf on Fri Feb 06, 2009 12:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: removed link. Not neccessary for question.

Brf
Support Team
Support Team

Re: Deleting Messages

Post by Brf »

You delete messages when you are reading the forum, or from the Moderator Control Panel.
The Admin control panel is not concerned with posts.

Also, when you delete a user from the ACP Manage Users, you are given the option of deleting all of that user's posts.

For questions about spammers, refer to this topic: viewtopic.php?f=71&t=30531

aquajoc

Post by aquajoc »

Hi

Thanks for the quick response!

When logged in as admin and viewing the topics in the forum I did not see a way to delete the messages.

Also, I am not quite sure how to log into the moderator control panel. Could you explain how to go about doing that?

Thanks for your patience!

Steve

Brf
Support Team
Support Team

Post by Brf »

You would need Moderator permissions to use moderator functions.
The simplest way is to go to Permissions / Global Moderators and add permissions to the Adminsitrators usergroup.

aquajoc

Post by aquajoc »

Hi

Thanks for the help!

It did work once I gave Moderator access, however, I have another problem.

I cannot seem to find the admin and moderator control panel "on a regular basis"