Update

Temporary forum to obtain support while phpBB.com is offline.
Please use the support forum on phpBB.com
Forum rules
Temporary forum to obtain support while phpBB.com is offline.
Please use the support forum on phpBB.com
nismo30110
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 7:50 pm
Location: Bremen, GA
Contact:

Update

Post by nismo30110 »

I have a site http://www.chat.christcustoms.com, that I use this software for. IT was automatically loaded to it when I started the site, but as version 3.0.1. I keep trying to load the new 3.0.4 to it, and it always has errors....what do I do?????????? I want to be able to use the new templates. In my free site I used (http://www.christcustoms.mybb3.org from php) i upgraded no problem.....what is the deal. I use Frontpage 2003 as well. :roll:
asdkfgnaweuintchvwefgn pirn;kdnva ;ikjgn pirjn................you got that???

User avatar
will_hough
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 2:35 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Update

Post by will_hough »

1) what are the errors?
2) You use Frontpage for what?

User avatar
stickerboy
Registered User
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 3:05 pm
Location: Airdrie, UK
Contact:

Re: Update

Post by stickerboy »

IT was automatically loaded to it when I started the site, but as version 3.0.
Do you mean that it was a one-click install from your hosts control panel?
I'm a web-designing prototyping tech-support musician
|| Twitter || Flickr || BandCamp ||
Please don't contact me via pm/email unless I ask you to/say it's ok

nismo30110
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 7:50 pm
Location: Bremen, GA
Contact:

Re: Update

Post by nismo30110 »

used frontpage to load php automatic update folders. as it tells me to load them after downloading and extracting the install folder. Then I go to my site and it starts a new installation process (similar to first time for 3.0.1)..but when mergeing certain files, it has many errors merging certain files or folders.....Wants me to edit or something..but I dont know how to write php.....and one click install on the 3.0.1 version....yes I guess you would say that
asdkfgnaweuintchvwefgn pirn;kdnva ;ikjgn pirjn................you got that???

User avatar
will_hough
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 2:35 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Update

Post by will_hough »

Never use "One click installs"
Don't use frontpage for anything. Upload the phpBB files using an FTP program

nismo30110
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 7:50 pm
Location: Bremen, GA
Contact:

Re: Update

Post by nismo30110 »

I also used the FTP program supplied by myhosting.com...I go the same results.....SOme files merged correctly, and others still did the same thing!!! My site is new and I would not be loosing anything important yet, so any suggestion will help. I am new to the PHP world too, so put it in "stupid" terms lol....
asdkfgnaweuintchvwefgn pirn;kdnva ;ikjgn pirjn................you got that???

User avatar
will_hough
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 2:35 pm
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Re: Update

Post by will_hough »

Not the file manager that your host uses, use a real FTP client

nismo30110
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 7:50 pm
Location: Bremen, GA
Contact:

Re: Update

Post by nismo30110 »

oooo........ok. anyone in particular you suggest to use? Na do I still just upload the installation folder in the same spots and such???..and my biggest thing being..will I have NEW templates. Thats about the only reason I want to update anyway is to have different templates than the only two I have...Also...how do I change my banner (the top part of my page) to one of my own I have on my computer!!!!!!!!!!
asdkfgnaweuintchvwefgn pirn;kdnva ;ikjgn pirjn................you got that???

User avatar
Lumpy Burgertushie
Registered User
Posts: 1006
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 5:26 pm

Re: Update

Post by Lumpy Burgertushie »

If you have no MODs installed ,get the complete zip file from the download site listed above. not any of the updates.

Then, unzip it to your computer. take out the config.php file.

then, using your ftp program ( filezilla is a very good and free one, google for it. ) upload all the files and folders and let them overwrite all the files and folders on your server.

then, go to:
yourdomain.com/yourphpbb/install/database_update.php
then delete the install folder.

You now have a new 3.0.4 version of the files and database.

Now, upload whatever styles you wish to use and install them via the admin panel and you are done.

Make your new logo file and save it as a gif, jpg or png file.

Upload it to your forum/styles/stylename/imagesets folder

Open
imageset/imageset.cfg

Find

Code: Select all

img_site_logo = site_logo.gif*52*139
and edit the logo name and dimensions accordingly.

Admin panel>styles>imagesets>refresh
Then hold shift and refresh your forum index.

Alternatively,
In the administration control panel select the styles tab
Then the imagesets option in the left menu
Now click edit next to the style you want to change.
Now you're ready to add your new logo image.
From the top dropdown box choose Main Logo and select
From the bottom dropdown box choose your logo file name
Enter the dimensions in the boxes provided and submit.
Now if you refresh your index page you'll see your new logo in place.


good luck,
roberrtt

nismo30110
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 7:50 pm
Location: Bremen, GA
Contact:

Re: Update

Post by nismo30110 »

K...ONe last question...Can I go straight from 3.0.1 to 3.0.4. I noticed the updated were from 3.0.2 to 3.0.3 and 3.0.3 to 3.0.4 Could this be part of my problem?
asdkfgnaweuintchvwefgn pirn;kdnva ;ikjgn pirjn................you got that???

Locked