PHP and Perl, accelerator question

Want to chit chat about anything, do it here ... posting here won't increase your post count (or shouldn't!). Please do not post any "phpBB" specific topics here unless they do not fit into the category above. Do not post bug reports, feature or support requests!
Forum rules
Please do not post any "phpBB" specific topics here unless they do not fit into the category above.

Do not post bug reports, feature or support requests! No really... Do not post bug reports, feature or support requests! Doing so will make Bertie a very sad bear indeed. :(
Post Reply
Uchiha Nick
Registered User
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 6:21 am
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: PHP and Perl, accelerator question

Post by Uchiha Nick »

get rid of the crappy server.
Image
itunes66
Registered User
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:28 am

Re: PHP and Perl, accelerator question

Post by itunes66 »

FreeBSD is not crappy, it is just not up to standards, get a linux server or somethin', just dont go get a windiws server
2 things i like about you hmm.. ill have to get back to you on that one
Uchiha Nick
Registered User
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 6:21 am
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: PHP and Perl, accelerator question

Post by Uchiha Nick »

the machine might
Image
Martin Blank
Registered User
Posts: 687
Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 11:17 am

Re: PHP and Perl, accelerator question

Post by Martin Blank »

FreeBSD isn't up to what standards?
You can never go home again... but I guess you can shop there.
itunes66
Registered User
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:28 am

Re: PHP and Perl, accelerator question

Post by itunes66 »

i have heard that it does not have all the server stuff made for linux and i have never heard of using a FreeBSD server except for OS X Server (OS X is FreeBSD Based) and some other servers, i usually hear about Linux servers. but other then some of the server stuff it lacks which could proabbly be very very very eaisly ported (idk, i dont create programs for *nix, i dont want to learn the extra languages lol)
2 things i like about you hmm.. ill have to get back to you on that one
Martin Blank
Registered User
Posts: 687
Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 11:17 am

Re: PHP and Perl, accelerator question

Post by Martin Blank »

OS X is based on BSD, not FreeBSD (there is a difference). Apache, Sendmail, Postfix, PHP, Perl, and many, many other applications run just fine on FreeBSD. There is a little less support for it as the number of developers is less than with Linux, but there are plenty of servers out there running various BSD flavors, including FreeBSD.
You can never go home again... but I guess you can shop there.
Uchiha Nick
Registered User
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 6:21 am
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: PHP and Perl, accelerator question

Post by Uchiha Nick »

guys GUYS.. MACHINE. not OS, but machine! you know, those things which use a motherboard.. processor and the like?
Image
itunes66
Registered User
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:28 am

Re: PHP and Perl, accelerator question

Post by itunes66 »

whoops, yep, forgot BSD, not FreeBSD.

and yeah it does depend on the machine components, and the like.
such as:
Ram (can you ever have enough lol)
HD Space
Processor Speed (go the highest you can go)
Front Side Bus (higher is still better lol)
and how the computer acts against loads of processing

(This makes me want to buy a server lol)
2 things i like about you hmm.. ill have to get back to you on that one
Martin Blank
Registered User
Posts: 687
Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 11:17 am

Re: PHP and Perl, accelerator question

Post by Martin Blank »

itunes66 wrote: Ram (can you ever have enough lol)

Microsoft just made available a patch allowing Windows Server 2003 64-bit Edition to handle up to 2TB of RAM.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/918844
You can never go home again... but I guess you can shop there.
itunes66
Registered User
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:28 am

Re: PHP and Perl, accelerator question

Post by itunes66 »

the Mac Pro can address up to 16TB of Ram, beat that
2 things i like about you hmm.. ill have to get back to you on that one
Post Reply