I miss Skype in phpbb3

Discuss features as they are added to the new version. Give us your feedback. Don't post bug reports, feature requests, support questions or suggestions here.
Forum rules
Discuss features as they are added to the new version. Give us your feedback. Don't post bug reports, feature requests, support questions or suggestions here. Feature requests are closed.
harmlessgoat22
Posts: 108
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 12:25 am

Re: I miss Skype in phpbb3

Post by harmlessgoat22 » Sun Sep 10, 2006 11:55 pm

If you are too lazy, why don't you go and get IPB or vB for over $100, which has all kinds of features and you will never need to mod anything :roll: :roll: :roll:
alphaPORTAL
phpBB3 Integration MOD:
Create Pages in phpBB3
Portal
Many Modules including Login, Welcome, Search, Top Posters, Online Now, Menu, Offsite Links, and more

User avatar
Handyman
Registered User
Posts: 522
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 5:09 am
Location: Where no man has gone before!
Contact:

Re: I miss Skype in phpbb3

Post by Handyman » Thu Sep 14, 2006 11:15 am

There is already a AJAX Chatbox for phpBB3
You can see it here (and test it out if you want) [SPAM]
I have another version that I haven't finished all the feature yet that works with:
IE
Safari
Mozilla
FireFox
Camino
Opera

It's not uploaded at the moment so you can't see it.

User avatar
cotp
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:31 am

Re: I miss Skype in phpbb3

Post by cotp » Thu Oct 26, 2006 3:07 am

Hello everyone and thanks for your efforts (and humour)

So in the end will it be possible to do a VOIP like Skype on PhpBB3 or will we have to wait for a MOD to be created ?
I see of course there is one on phpBB2....

Cotp

User avatar
Eelke
Registered User
Posts: 606
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2001 8:00 am
Location: Bussum, NL
Contact:

Re: I miss Skype in phpbb3

Post by Eelke » Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:08 am

A field that links to a person can be done out of the box, you just add a URL field (but you will have to instruct users on how to properly populate it, I think, they'll have to add skype://" target="_blank or callto://" target="_blank themselves). If you want online/offline status and/or want your users to be able to just enter their Skype name, it will have to be modded.

patrikana
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:04 am

Re: I miss Skype in phpbb3

Post by patrikana » Tue Sep 02, 2008 9:58 am

Okay, the gizmo is the inn media brand. It has two phone ports on back. When I plug into phone port 2 I just get a busy signal. Is it possible to "hack" this port into operation? I would like to have my second "signature" number ring into port 2. Is it possible to add a second gizmo and configure it to the signature number? Is there any way to open the second port on my Sun rocket VOIP gizmo?

User avatar
Highway of Life
Registered User
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 10:18 pm
Location: I'd love to change the World, but they won't give me the Source Code
Contact:

Re: I miss Skype in phpbb3

Post by Highway of Life » Wed Sep 03, 2008 9:58 pm

Hmm... perhaps you missed that this is not a GIZMO support forum? ;)
Image

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Registered User
Posts: 357
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 1:51 am
Contact:

Re: I miss Skype in phpbb3

Post by RMcGirr83 » Wed Sep 24, 2008 2:18 pm

Do not hire Christian Bullock he won't finish the job and will keep your money

User avatar
Aled
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 4:47 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: I miss Skype in phpbb3

Post by Aled » Thu Nov 06, 2008 8:10 pm

I have not read the entire thread, just the first page. I do not understand what Jabber is, but I think it would be logical to replace it with Skype. Prehaps a feature what allows the admin to select which ones he wants in a User Profile from the admin panel.
MSN Messenger - 1
Yahoo Messenger - 0
Jabber - 0
Skype -1
ICQ - 0
-Aled

User avatar
Eelke
Registered User
Posts: 606
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2001 8:00 am
Location: Bussum, NL
Contact:

Re: I miss Skype in phpbb3

Post by Eelke » Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:42 pm

I smell another plugin system. One for profile fields, with standardized functions that return an HTML string to display the field in the UCP, in a user's profile and a representation to store it in the database. Oh, and a warning somewhere stating that you shouldn't go overboard on the profile plugins you install :)

warmweer
Registered User
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 5:27 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: I miss Skype in phpbb3

Post by warmweer » Mon Feb 16, 2009 9:22 pm

Aled wrote:I have not read the entire thread, just the first page. I do not understand what Jabber is, but I think it would be logical to replace it with Skype. Prehaps a feature what allows the admin to select which ones he wants in a User Profile from the admin panel.

-Aled
If you don't understand what Jabber is, why is it logical to replace it with Skype?? I for one don't want Skype on my PC but I have no problems with there being a Skype field in the user's profile. In that respect your last sentence is understandable but, it almost sound like a feature request.
Procrastination is my hobby, but I keep on postponing it.

Post Reply