I miss Skype in phpbb3

Discuss features as they are added to the new version. Give us your feedback. Don't post bug reports, feature requests, support questions or suggestions here.
Forum rules
Discuss features as they are added to the new version. Give us your feedback. Don't post bug reports, feature requests, support questions or suggestions here. Feature requests are closed.
bchdata
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 11:32 pm

I miss Skype in phpbb3

Post by bchdata »

I hope that Skype will be one of the options in phpbb3.

I can see that it is not included yet.

It is of big value to have Skype integrated in your forum.
Yawnster
Registered User
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 9:18 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: I miss Skype in phpbb3

Post by Yawnster »

There is a feature that enables you to add profile fields.. This could be a usage for this as not all board will want a Skype Profile field, personally I think it should be kept back to a minimum on all forums and none should be included by default
bchdata
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 11:32 pm

Re: I miss Skype in phpbb3

Post by bchdata »

Actually you can find this in the user profile:

ICQ, AOL, MSN Messenger, Yahoo Messenger and Jabber.

I think that Skype will be more appreciated then more of them.
Yawnster
Registered User
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 9:18 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: I miss Skype in phpbb3

Post by Yawnster »

bchdata wrote: Actually you can find this in the user profile:

ICQ, AOL, MSN Messenger, Yahoo Messenger and Jabber.

I think that Skype will be more appreciated then more of them.
You can add in more profile fields!!! This includes a skype field if you wish, you could add in a Age field if you so wished, pretty much anything is possible..

Yawnster
bchdata
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 11:32 pm

Re: I miss Skype in phpbb3

Post by bchdata »

Will it be possible then to click a Skype button, and then get connected to another Skype user, and will it be easy for new user?

Where can I add the extra field?
(I have phpbb3 running)
Yawnster
Registered User
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 9:18 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: I miss Skype in phpbb3

Post by Yawnster »

You can add the extra field via the admin Panel.. do a bit of digging its fairly simple to spot..

As for the Skype user addition thing, im not exactly sure that possible.. the way that AIM, YIM do it is via a url protocol, im not sure if Skype can do this.. but im sure its possible..

Yawnster
User avatar
pentapenguin
Registered User
Posts: 618
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 6:07 pm
Location: GA, USA
Contact:

Re: I miss Skype in phpbb3

Post by pentapenguin »

To have a Skype image and button you would need to install a MOD. A Skype MOD is available for 2 and I'm sure there will be one for 3 as well.
phpBB.com Support Team Member and Incident Investigation Team Member
My phpBB MODs || Professional phpBB Customization, Transfers, and Conversions
bchdata
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 11:32 pm

Re: I miss Skype in phpbb3

Post by bchdata »

I know about the Skype Mod for phpbb2, as I use it on my forum.

I only want it to be an integrated part of 3.0, just like ICQ, AOL, MSN Messenger, Yahoo Messenger and Jabber.

If it's integrated, then an update of phpbb is easier.

I believe that Skype will be used a lot in the future.
Have you seen that it now has video.
-CC-
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2004 10:15 pm

Re: I miss Skype in phpbb3

Post by -CC- »

Yawnster wrote: the way that AIM, YIM do it is via a url protocol, im not sure if Skype can do this.. but im sure its possible..
It is. callto://<skypename>, IIRC.
mdshort
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 5:39 pm

Re: I miss Skype in phpbb3

Post by mdshort »

Google Talk anybody?
Post Reply