Editing Lang files via the ACP

Discuss features as they are added to the new version. Give us your feedback. Don't post bug reports, feature requests, support questions or suggestions here.
Forum rules
Discuss features as they are added to the new version. Give us your feedback. Don't post bug reports, feature requests, support questions or suggestions here. Feature requests are closed.
blobber
Registered User
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 6:28 pm

Re: Editing Lang files via the ACP

Post by blobber »

Also, if lang files aren't native php files anymore, language customization becomes much less a potential security threat - one could even add a function to the ACP to download the latest language packs from phpbb.com or exchange language packs with other users.

Vire
Registered User
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 3:54 pm

Re: Editing Lang files via the ACP

Post by Vire »

I agree with you BiO, but again the security on most servers hosted by a perfectly sane company would activate a selfdestruction thingy... No one wants a forum that says
"HACKED BY tghfghfghfgjhjhgjg45646u"...
*BOOM*
>.<
:mrgreen:

User avatar
Ptirhiik_
Registered User
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 8:35 am

Re: Editing Lang files via the ACP

Post by Ptirhiik_ »

erm... who need a chmod(777) to rewrite a file ? :)

shushu
Registered User
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 7:12 pm

Re: Editing Lang files via the ACP

Post by shushu »

Hello!
I read all these posts here. And I have a question.
I want to translate phpBB 3.0 Beta.
I've downloaded a CVS 2 days ago and installed it.
The lang files can be translated offline. I mean by opening the .php files.
Or trough the ACP.

Both ways are Ok. But I have a problem with the charset.
I have to change it to "Windows-1251" for Bulgarian.
So I did that. In common.php
It is the only place where I can find "ENCODING"
And the language is not properly displayed :(
It is something like:
Legend :: Àäìèíèñòðàòîðè, Áîòîâå
I know it is an encoding and simple problem.
And it sounds like a stupid question. But I am infront of my PC for 6 hours. And I am simply totaly blocked here.
I can't find a solution. No matter how hard I'm looking for it.

Any ideas?

SamG
Registered User
Posts: 1241
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2001 6:35 pm

Re: Editing Lang files via the ACP

Post by SamG »

CVS is unfinished and unsupported, we haven't had a beta release yet, not to mention that the developers have encouraged translators to wait ...
"I hate trolls!" - Willow Ufgood

shushu
Registered User
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 7:12 pm

Re: Editing Lang files via the ACP

Post by shushu »

Yes, yes.. I know that it is unfinished. And unsupported.
Anyway this is not coding, php changes or something like that. I mean things that are NOT my power ;)
I don't think the changes in the lang files will be too many.

And because I feel that a Beta will be out soon /I hope!/, I just want to be able of using it ASAP.
So the Bulgarian translator of phpBB is not so fast. I mean he can be busy or something... He has his own personal life.
And after 2.0.12 was released there are some changes in the lang files, because of the new option of version check in the ACP.
So the translators had to upgrade those lang files. As far as I can see a lot of languages were upgraded. But the Bulgarian is still not upgraded.
I had to make these changes by myself to be able to use this feature in 2.0.12 and 2.0.13

All I want to say is that after the beta release of 3.0 I will have to wait for a translation.
So I prefer to make it myself.
And even that this is just a CVS, I am ready to take that risk :)
All I need is a little help about this encoding problem.

blobber
Registered User
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 6:28 pm

Re: Editing Lang files via the ACP

Post by blobber »

What editor are you using ?

Looks to me like your text editor is screwing up the encoding - so make sure to use an editor that supports saving ascii files using the encoding that your language requires.

shushu
Registered User
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2005 7:12 pm

Re: Editing Lang files via the ACP

Post by shushu »

You mean the editor for opening and changing the .php files?
Oh! I don't think this is the reason ;)
I am using Notepad++
http://notepad-plus.sourceforge.net/uk/site.htm" target="_blank

But it is the same if I am opening the file with Notepad+ or Dreamweaver...

And the funny thing:
In the ACP where I can translate the lang files...
There everything is fine.
I mean I am translating common.php with Notepad++ for example. Saving the file when a part of it is translated into Bulgarian.
Then I am choosing the option to edit common.php trough the ACP.
And the words I've already translated with Notepad++ are displayed properly in those fields in the ACP.
But the index page of the forum is not :(
I've tried with 3 different browsers - Firefox /My favourite/, IE, Opera.

All the same.

SamG
Registered User
Posts: 1241
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2001 6:35 pm

Re: Editing Lang files via the ACP

Post by SamG »

shushu wrote: Yes, yes.. I know that it is unfinished. And unsupported.
Anyway this is not coding, php changes or something like that. I mean things that are NOT my power ;)
I don't think the changes in the lang files will be too many....
Unless I have misunderstood them, the developers are making no such guarantee. They have implied that translators working with the material now will be wasting time doing translations at this point.

At any rate, CVS is unsupported and you're free to work away on your own.
"I hate trolls!" - Willow Ufgood

Locked