Including a default Favicon for fresh instalations

Discussion of general topics related to the new version and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Forum rules
Discussion of general topics related to the new release and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:08 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

Including a default Favicon for fresh instalations

Post by Dragosvr92 » Thu Aug 11, 2011 5:21 pm

Hey, i was wondering Why dosnt phpbb provide a favicon.

It could be the same favicon that shows on phpbb.com and other forums. Same as the phpbb banner is in every style.
The favicon should be placed into the root and be linked inside the head. Like this:

Code: Select all

<link rel="shortcut icon" href="/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />
Or any other code the phpbb team thinks is needed for better loading or whatever, like that icon rel too...

That way people will only have to replace the existing favicon with their own, so no more need in editing the header, into adding that line etc.
Previous user: TheKiller
Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3

User avatar
Vinny
Style Customisations
Style Customisations
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 4:01 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Including a default Favicon for fresh instalations

Post by Vinny » Thu Aug 11, 2011 6:10 pm

TheKiller92 wrote:The favicon should be placed into the root and be linked inside the head
It would be better in: /images/ or styles/(style-name)/theme/images/

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 1821
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:29 pm
Location: Earth
Contact:

Re: Including a default Favicon for fresh instalations

Post by DavidIQ » Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:43 pm

A server configured to properly handle favicon.ico doesn't need that line ;) It will simply display it if found in the forum root or the site root.
Image

User avatar
callumacrae
Former Team Member
Posts: 1046
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 9:37 am
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Including a default Favicon for fresh instalations

Post by callumacrae » Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:08 am

Vinny wrote:It would be better in: /images/ or styles/(style-name)/theme/images/
No, it is preferred that favicons go in the web root.
Made by developers, for developers!
My blog

User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:08 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Including a default Favicon for fresh instalations

Post by Dragosvr92 » Fri Aug 12, 2011 5:38 am

DavidIQ wrote:A server configured to properly handle favicon.ico doesn't need that line ;) It will simply display it if found in the forum root or the site root.
Yes, but wouldn't it be best to get it also specified in html, other than just put it into the root?
Even if it wont require any html edits, I think its a good idea to include a favicon that describes the prosilver and subsilver themes.

Like this:

Prosilver : Image
SubSilver: Image
Previous user: TheKiller
Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3

User avatar
callumacrae
Former Team Member
Posts: 1046
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 9:37 am
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Including a default Favicon for fresh instalations

Post by callumacrae » Fri Aug 12, 2011 9:23 am

TheKiller wrote:Yes, but wouldn't it be best to get it also specified in html, other than just put it into the root?
No, it slows down page load time considerably. It should always be put in the web root.
Made by developers, for developers!
My blog

User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:08 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Including a default Favicon for fresh instalations

Post by Dragosvr92 » Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:12 pm

callumacrae wrote:
TheKiller wrote:Yes, but wouldn't it be best to get it also specified in html, other than just put it into the root?
No, it slows down page load time considerably. It should always be put in the web root.
hum, i though it helps to speed the page load, as its specified there also.
Previous user: TheKiller
Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3

User avatar
callumacrae
Former Team Member
Posts: 1046
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 9:37 am
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Including a default Favicon for fresh instalations

Post by callumacrae » Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:25 pm

TheKiller wrote:hum, i though it helps to speed the page load, as its specified there also.
No - if it isn't in the HTML, then the browser will load the page, and then look for a favicon. If it is in the HTML, some browsers (such as IE) will stop the page loading, load the favicon, and then continue.
Made by developers, for developers!
My blog

Oleg
Posts: 1150
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 2:38 am
Contact:

Re: Including a default Favicon for fresh instalations

Post by Oleg » Sat Aug 13, 2011 3:24 am

The reason to have favicon specified in HTML is to append an asset timestamp to it. However asset timestamps is not something we have in phpbb at the moment.
callumacrae wrote: If it is in the HTML, some browsers (such as IE) will stop the page loading, load the favicon, and then continue.
Why am I not surprised?

User avatar
Dragosvr92
Registered User
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 12:08 pm
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Including a default Favicon for fresh instalations

Post by Dragosvr92 » Sat Aug 13, 2011 9:25 am

callumacrae wrote: No - if it isn't in the HTML, then the browser will load the page, and then look for a favicon. If it is in the HTML, some browsers (such as IE) will stop the page loading, load the favicon, and then continue.
Ah.. I didnt knew that. Thanks for letting me know ! I should remove that line from my forum and just let the favicon.ico there, in the root.
Oleg wrote:The reason to have favicon specified in HTML is to append an asset timestamp to it. However asset timestamps is not something we have in phpbb at the moment.
I dont know what do you mean by a timestamp for favicon loading... :?

Anyways, my idea still stands, with, or without the favicon linked with html.
I think it will be nice to include a favicon that describes the phpbb software.
That way people may understand faster that all they need to do is replace that file with their own.
Previous user: TheKiller
Avatar on Memberlist 1.0.3

Post Reply