Spell Check with Google tool bar

Discussion of general topics related to the new version and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Forum rules
Discussion of general topics related to the new release and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Post Reply
Drew***
Registered User
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:48 pm

Spell Check with Google tool bar

Post by Drew*** »

As a lousy speller, the spelling checker in the Google tool bar has become one of my favorite crutches. For some reason It dose not work with thhis version of the froum.
Where would you like to go today? http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/

We have information about your home http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/subscribe.php3
code reader
Registered User
Posts: 653
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 3:01 pm

Re: Spell Check with Google tool bar

Post by code reader »

if it's not too late for you:
fwiw, Firefox 2.0 has a built-in spell checker, which does work with olympus.
it may not be perfect, but it's very convenient, works directly in the textarea.
it marks misspelled words with red underline, and lets you pick a replacement word by right-clicking on the marked word.
it also supports private dictionaries ("add to dictionary").
even better, you can easily add more languages to the s/c, and switch between them at will.
i don't know how google's s/c works, and with Firefox, i suspect i'll never know... :D
User avatar
ChrisRLG
Registered User
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 9:47 am
Contact:

Re: Spell Check with Google tool bar

Post by ChrisRLG »

I use iespell - it works in most programs etc and is freeware.
TigerWolf
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 7:10 am

Re: Spell Check with Google tool bar

Post by TigerWolf »

The firefox spell checker is fantastic and works right out of the box (so to speak).
Fury
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 8:55 am

Re: Spell Check with Google tool bar

Post by Fury »

Google tool bar spell checker is working fine for me on all bb3 sites. I am using fox 2.0.0.3 and the built in checker is there and does underline misspelled words but the Google tool bar checker is FAR superior. You also do not need to use the Google tool bar to use the Google spell checker. You just run the Google tool bar once and then drag the one spell check icon off the Google bar to your normal fox bar and then shut off the Google tool bar.
Drew***
Registered User
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:48 pm

Re: Spell Check with Google tool bar

Post by Drew*** »

I see that my errors are underlined in Fire Fox ... and I do like Firefox, but I also use other browsers to make sure that the sites. pages and forums for which I am responsible function as intended. Call it stupidity or marketing genius, either way most people still use IE.


I'm also supprised to see that I can be logged on to the forum in IE and Firefox at the same time :D
Where would you like to go today? http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/

We have information about your home http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/subscribe.php3
User avatar
Handyman
Registered User
Posts: 522
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 5:09 am
Location: Where no man has gone before!
Contact:

Re: Spell Check with Google tool bar

Post by Handyman »

FireFox psell cheker roks!!! :P
My phpBB3 Mods || My Mod Queue
Search Engine Friendly (SEO) URLs || Profile link on Avatar and/or Username || AJAX Chat
Display Posts Anywhere || CashMod || AJAX Quick Edit || AJAX Quick Reply

Image
Fury
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 8:55 am

Re: Spell Check with Google tool bar

Post by Fury »

Each browser has its own cache of cookies. you can log on to "anything" with 2 browsers at the same time.. even your bank.
Drew***
Registered User
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:48 pm

Re: Spell Check with Google tool bar

Post by Drew*** »

Fury wrote: Each browser has its own cache of cookies. you can log on to "anything" with 2 browsers at the same time.. even your bank.


You got me thinking, so out of curiosity I tried. I was not able to access my account with out ending the previous session.
But the statement "Each browser has its own cache of cookies" would be true.
Where would you like to go today? http://antwrp.gsfc.nasa.gov/apod/

We have information about your home http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/subscribe.php3
User avatar
Nicholas the Italian
Registered User
Posts: 659
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 11:19 pm
Location: 46°8' N, 12°13' E
Contact:

Re: Spell Check with Google tool bar

Post by Nicholas the Italian »

Drew*** wrote:
Fury wrote: Each browser has its own cache of cookies. you can log on to "anything" with 2 browsers at the same time.. even your bank.

You got me thinking, so out of curiosity I tried. I was not able to access my account with out ending the previous session.
But the statement "Each browser has its own cache of cookies" would be true.

Each browser has its cookies, but the host can stop two different users from accessing the same account concurrently.
Post Reply