question regarding bbcode [url]

Discussion of general topics related to the new version and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Forum rules
Discussion of general topics related to the new release and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
User avatar
b3rx
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 5:11 am
Location: Cebu City, Ph
Contact:

question regarding bbcode [url]

Post by b3rx »

I have set my [url] bbcode settings to disable. so that my members cant post links inside the forum, but why is that I, the admin, cant by pass this?
b3rx.com

"The only real mistake is the one from which we learn nothing..."

Image Image Image

User avatar
Highway of Life
Registered User
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 10:18 pm
Location: I'd love to change the World, but they won't give me the Source Code
Contact:

Re: question regarding bbcode [url]

Post by Highway of Life »

Why would that be a problem? as Founder, you automatically have ALL privileges.
Image

Paul
Infrastructure Team Leader
Infrastructure Team Leader
Posts: 367
Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 9:02 am
Contact:

Re: question regarding bbcode [url]

Post by Paul »

Highway of Life wrote: Why would that be a problem? as Founder, you automatically have ALL privileges.
Thats not true, founders has only all a_ permissions.

User avatar
b3rx
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 5:11 am
Location: Cebu City, Ph
Contact:

Re: question regarding bbcode [url]

Post by b3rx »

paulus wrote: Thats not true, founders has only all a_ permissions.

what does that supposed to mean a_ permissions? is this a bug? or this is how it should work?

@HoL
try it in beta5, the founder cant post [url] if posting of links has been disabled in the board settings.
b3rx.com

"The only real mistake is the one from which we learn nothing..."

Image Image Image

User avatar
Handyman
Registered User
Posts: 522
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 5:09 am
Location: Where no man has gone before!
Contact:

Re: question regarding bbcode [url]

Post by Handyman »

b3rx wrote:
paulus wrote: Thats not true, founders has only all a_ permissions.

what does that supposed to mean a_ permissions? is this a bug? or this is how it should work?

@HoL
try it in beta5, the founder cant post [url] if posting of links has been disabled in the board settings.

The permission system, once you get to know it, is really cool... it does everything base on Admin permissions, Moderator permissions and user permissions with subpermissions under that.

The a_ just means that you have full permission to the admin area.
There are other permissions such as a_users which only give you permission to admin users… not sure if that's exactly what it is without looking, but that kinda gives you a basic idea of how it works.

Full mod permissions are m_
Full user permissions are u_
There is also forum permissions
My phpBB3 Mods || My Mod Queue
Search Engine Friendly (SEO) URLs || Profile link on Avatar and/or Username || AJAX Chat
Display Posts Anywhere || CashMod || AJAX Quick Edit || AJAX Quick Reply

Image

APTX
Registered User
Posts: 680
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 12:07 pm

Re: question regarding bbcode [url]

Post by APTX »

a_ means the user has any a_* permissions.
Don't give me my freedom out of pity!

User avatar
b3rx
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 5:11 am
Location: Cebu City, Ph
Contact:

Re: question regarding bbcode [url]

Post by b3rx »

oh ok. but my question still remains, why is a founder can't bypass this feature? do i really need to enable the url bbcode everytime i want to post a link? or there is something im missing?
b3rx.com

"The only real mistake is the one from which we learn nothing..."

Image Image Image

User avatar
Handyman
Registered User
Posts: 522
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 5:09 am
Location: Where no man has gone before!
Contact:

Re: question regarding bbcode [url]

Post by Handyman »

b3rx wrote: oh ok. but my question still remains, why is a founder can't bypass this feature? do i really need to enable the url bbcode everytime i want to post a link? or there is something im missing?

Permissions only work for what you set them to... i.e., you can give yourself permission to do whatever on your entire forum withoug making it available to everyone else... but you have to give yourself permission to.
Either put yourself in a group and give that group permissions or just give the permissions specifically to you. (sounds a little selfish doesn't it? ;) )
My phpBB3 Mods || My Mod Queue
Search Engine Friendly (SEO) URLs || Profile link on Avatar and/or Username || AJAX Chat
Display Posts Anywhere || CashMod || AJAX Quick Edit || AJAX Quick Reply

Image

User avatar
b3rx
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 5:11 am
Location: Cebu City, Ph
Contact:

Re: question regarding bbcode [url]

Post by b3rx »

Ok then I get it now. I need to belong to a group that has permission to post links, here's another question, how to give a group permission to be able to post links in the forum even if it's explicitly specified in the board settings that posting/using of url bbcode has been disabled?
b3rx.com

"The only real mistake is the one from which we learn nothing..."

Image Image Image

User avatar
Highway of Life
Registered User
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 10:18 pm
Location: I'd love to change the World, but they won't give me the Source Code
Contact:

Re: question regarding bbcode [url]

Post by Highway of Life »

AFAIK, That is not possible, though I have not tested it... it would be something to try... but realistically, it shouldn't be possible.
Image

Post Reply