phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Discussion of general topics related to the new version and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Forum rules
Discussion of general topics related to the new release and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Post Reply
User avatar
EXreaction
Registered User
Posts: 1555
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:15 am

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Post by EXreaction »

_Kilian_ wrote: simply don't.. you only show the amount of posts inserted and update it say every 5 seconds.. you can see the progress on that way..


The script I used(the one I created for CH 1.6 to phpBB3) inserted 5,000 posts at a time, then reloaded the page, then inserted the next 5,000, etc until it was done. :)

Worked very well(though, the script wasn't optimized very well, and my pc is getting old, so it took a very long time to do 5,000 posts). :)
_Kilian_
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 10:14 am
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Post by _Kilian_ »

oke I've managed to build a simple demo. You can find the files in the .rar file along with 2 images. Read the install.txt before using and use is on own risk.

Hope i am allowed to share this here, otherwise i'll see it removed by one of the mods
Attachments
conversion_progress_bar.rar
(97.5 KiB) Downloaded 482 times
User avatar
naderman
Consultant
Posts: 1727
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 2:11 am
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Post by naderman »

To make some things clear about search plugins:
Both fulltext_native and fulltext_mysql require an index

fulltext_native uses standard database tables for the index
fulltext_mysql stores the index internally if a column as a FULLTEXT index

You can select the search backend in the ACP after installation before the conversion if you want to do the conversion with a different search backend. If the search doesn't work after conversion this clearly is a bug (by default fulltext_native is selected, which actually might not be a worse choice than fulltext_mysql).
User avatar
Handyman
Registered User
Posts: 522
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 5:09 am
Location: Where no man has gone before!
Contact:

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Post by Handyman »

Ok... it's all making more sense now.
Thanks for the clarification... though I still don't understand how my search tables could be empty and I can still search... I'll run some tests and see what kind of mistake I made :)

[edit]wow! that was fast to make a search index for almost 15,000 posts. I thought that would take a while, but it took less than 1 minute.[/edit]
naderman wrote: To make some things clear about search plugins:
Both fulltext_native and fulltext_mysql require an index

fulltext_native uses standard database tables for the index
fulltext_mysql stores the index internally if a column as a FULLTEXT index

You can select the search backend in the ACP after installation before the conversion if you want to do the conversion with a different search backend. If the search doesn't work after conversion this clearly is a bug (by default fulltext_native is selected, which actually might not be a worse choice than fulltext_mysql).
My phpBB3 Mods || My Mod Queue
Search Engine Friendly (SEO) URLs || Profile link on Avatar and/or Username || AJAX Chat
Display Posts Anywhere || CashMod || AJAX Quick Edit || AJAX Quick Reply

Image
User avatar
EXreaction
Registered User
Posts: 1555
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 2:15 am

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Post by EXreaction »

naderman wrote: To make some things clear about search plugins:
Both fulltext_native and fulltext_mysql require an index

fulltext_native uses standard database tables for the index
fulltext_mysql stores the index internally if a column as a FULLTEXT index

You can select the search backend in the ACP after installation before the conversion if you want to do the conversion with a different search backend. If the search doesn't work after conversion this clearly is a bug (by default fulltext_native is selected, which actually might not be a worse choice than fulltext_mysql).


Then I am very confused...

How does the search work on the forums I upgraded earlier? I set it to MySQL and tried to create an index, but I got that error(its in the bug tracker), and it didn't create any column. :?
Martin Blank
Registered User
Posts: 687
Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 11:17 am

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Post by Martin Blank »

naderman wrote: To make some things clear about search plugins:
Both fulltext_native and fulltext_mysql require an index

Does fulltext_mysql require mysqli as the database type? If so, perhaps the option could be removed or blocked in the case that no mysqli support is available.
You can never go home again... but I guess you can shop there.
User avatar
Handyman
Registered User
Posts: 522
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 5:09 am
Location: Where no man has gone before!
Contact:

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Post by Handyman »

Martin Blank wrote:
naderman wrote: To make some things clear about search plugins:
Both fulltext_native and fulltext_mysql require an index

Does fulltext_mysql require mysqli as the database type? If so, perhaps the option could be removed or blocked in the case that no mysqli support is available.

No.
I'm using fulltext_mysql with regular Mysql.
Though I use mysqli on my localhost and it works great as well.
My phpBB3 Mods || My Mod Queue
Search Engine Friendly (SEO) URLs || Profile link on Avatar and/or Username || AJAX Chat
Display Posts Anywhere || CashMod || AJAX Quick Edit || AJAX Quick Reply

Image
APTX
Registered User
Posts: 680
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 12:07 pm

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Post by APTX »

mysqli is not a database, it's a PHP extension.
Don't give me my freedom out of pity!
User avatar
Acyd Burn
Posts: 1838
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2002 5:18 pm
Location: Behind You
Contact:

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Post by Acyd Burn »

_Kilian_ wrote: simply don't.. you only show the amount of posts inserted and update it say every 5 seconds.. you can see the progress on that way..


This is already done... you see the skip_rows? ;) And as has been said, the page will be displayed at the end - therefore no "5 seconds" updates.

Image
User avatar
Nicholas the Italian
Registered User
Posts: 659
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 11:19 pm
Location: 46°8' N, 12°13' E
Contact:

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Post by Nicholas the Italian »

What if the coversion process is interrupted for any reason (connection failure, error, etc.)? Do you have to start over again? Can you restart from the point you were stopped? Must you undo the changes before starting over?
Just being curious. If it really takes hours to convert large forums, such an evenience should be considered.

PS: I did not test the converter, and if I did, well, my forum currently contains only 3K posts.
Post Reply