phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Discussion of general topics related to the new version and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Forum rules
Discussion of general topics related to the new release and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Post Reply
User avatar
Matty05
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 5:15 pm
Location: Groitzsch (Germany)
Contact:

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Post by Matty05 »

I try to convert my Forum on localhost.

But he mean "Could not find path to your former forum. Please check your settings and try again."
I try every path. What can i do ?

Path to old Board: http://localhost/CONVERT2/phpBB2/
Path to new Board: http://localhost/CONVERT2/phpBB2/phpbb2_3/phpbb2/

Whats wrong ?

Sry for my bad english ^^
_Kilian_
Registered User
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 10:14 am
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Post by _Kilian_ »

try ../../../phpBB2/
User avatar
Matty05
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 5:15 pm
Location: Groitzsch (Germany)
Contact:

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Post by Matty05 »

Thx it works
User avatar
alycad
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 7:44 pm
Location: Lisboa
Contact:

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Post by alycad »

Matty05 wrote: I try to convert my Forum on localhost.

But he mean "Could not find path to your former forum. Please check your settings and try again."
I try every path. What can i do ?

Path to old Board: http://localhost/CONVERT2/phpBB2/
Path to new Board: http://localhost/CONVERT2/phpBB2/phpbb2_3/phpbb2/

Whats wrong ?

Sry for my bad english ^^



I have a similar problem...

Image

I specify the prefix... like it is, the path... http://www.phpbb.globalfree.net/forum
it should be ../forum like i used.

but i get this error:
The table prefix needs to be the one used by the software you are converting from.
» Specified table prefix was phpbb_

Thats it... as anoyne found this?

Alvaro
http://www.globalfree.net" target="_blank
Just feel it
Image
User avatar
Matty05
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 5:15 pm
Location: Groitzsch (Germany)
Contact:

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Post by Matty05 »

Have you an other prefix used for your phpbb2 ?
User avatar
D@ve
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2004 1:38 am

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Post by D@ve »

You'll find the table prefix in config.php of your old Board...

I still have the problem with Internal Server Error.

Code: Select all

Premature end of script headers: index.php
Plain vanilla installation of phpbb3 works fine. The error appears after the screen with:

All pre-conversion steps have successfully been completed. etc....

Regards, Dave
http://www.2sounde.de" target="_blank - das kostenlose online-magazin für musiker
User avatar
Nicholas the Italian
Registered User
Posts: 659
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 11:19 pm
Location: 46°8' N, 12°13' E
Contact:

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Post by Nicholas the Italian »

Martin Blank wrote: To clarify (at least how I saw it working through two crashes), it picks up from the last successfully completed point. This means that if it's in the middle of converting posts, it will start from the beginning of converting posts, clearing the _posts table and starting over.

Which is, I believe, the longest point to be done.
So, if you have converted say one million posts and then it crashes, you've lost X hrs of work. Can't a way be found to resume from the middle of posts conversion?
I say this because Murphy theorems state that the probability that a process crashes at 99% is proportional to the time the process takes... ;)
User avatar
D@ve
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2004 1:38 am

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Post by D@ve »

Yes...

Wouldn't it be possible to convert posts automatically by a recursive call of the converter script? So you don't need to sit hours and hours in front of your computer starring at the screen while waiting for the next 200 converted posts...

Dave
http://www.2sounde.de" target="_blank - das kostenlose online-magazin für musiker
User avatar
SHS`
Registered User
Posts: 1628
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2001 9:13 am
Location: The Boonies, Hong Kong
Contact:

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Post by SHS` »

Nicholas the Italian wrote: So, if you have converted say one million posts and then it crashes, you've lost X hrs of work. Can't a way be found to resume from the middle of posts conversion?
I say this because Murphy theorems state that the probability that a process crashes at 99% is proportional to the time the process takes... ;)


The converter only does batches of 2000 posts (previously 6000, as we were testing it on the phpBB.com DB), and have successfully restarted it (also by deliberately killing it) with it only clearing out the last partially completed batch (otherwise will get double-converted topics/posts/PMs).
Jonathan “SHS`” Stanley • 史德信
phpBB™ 3.1.x, Bug/Security trackers
phpBB™ Bertie Bear 3.0 — prosilver Edition!Asking Questions The Smart Way
User avatar
Nicholas the Italian
Registered User
Posts: 659
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 11:19 pm
Location: 46°8' N, 12°13' E
Contact:

Re: phpBB2 -> phpBB3 Upgrade Script Discussion

Post by Nicholas the Italian »

SHS` wrote: The converter only does batches of 2000 posts, and have successfully restarted it (also by deliberately killing it) with it only clearing out the last partially completed batch (otherwise will get double-converted topics/posts/PMs).

Ook, that's what I wanted to know. ;)

BTW:

Image

8O eheh you can't be surprised that a few tiny bugs come up... and they must have been working on this for months... :)
Post Reply