Tell me, are these bugs or known issues?...

Discussion of general topics related to the new version and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Forum rules
Discussion of general topics related to the new release and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
User avatar
dhn
Registered User
Posts: 1518
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2001 8:10 am
Location: Around the corner
Contact:

Re: Tell me, are these bugs or known issues?...

Post by dhn »

Tienchen wrote: @dhn: Sorry, isn't working.
Bold Code

It isn't yet fixed here, but in CVS. Will update here as soon as I get someone to fix the file permissions. ;)

User avatar
Lastof
Registered User
Posts: 518
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:10 pm
Location: Two weeks last wednesday
Contact:

Re: Tell me, are these bugs or known issues?...

Post by Lastof »

Tienchen wrote: @LastOf: Well, nearly all webbrowsers see the code quite the same, only display what is really coded. The IE doesn't...


I know, however, part of the the commit comment was
Probably issues on Konquerer, Safari, FF2 on MacOS (as per a forum post).


I thought they would like to know that it is working nicely on OSX (though, I didn't say clearly it was OSX. I presumed the devs would realise since some of the browsers are OSX only.)
Last edited by Lastof on 04 May 2008, 00:00, edited -1 times in total
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Look, I'm officially not a bug!!
SHS`: "Oooh Bertie, spank me with that casing stick, spank me spank me spaaaaannnnk mee!"
Image

User avatar
dhn
Registered User
Posts: 1518
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2001 8:10 am
Location: Around the corner
Contact:

Re: Tell me, are these bugs or known issues?...

Post by dhn »

Ok, editor javascript now up to date here.

User avatar
Nicholas the Italian
Registered User
Posts: 659
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 11:19 pm
Location: 46°8' N, 12°13' E
Contact:

Re: Tell me, are these bugs or known issues?...

Post by Nicholas the Italian »

[quote="Acyd Burn"]We won't change this to a full-fledged wysiwyg thingy... it is only meant as a tiny helper for those not knowing bbcode. If suggestions sound reasonable and are able to be done without changing too much code than ok, but please no feature requests at this time. :)[/quote]

WTF, are you saying you're not going to implement the whole Micro$oft Office package into it? :(
The reason I insist on this is because 90% of a poster life is, after all, reading messages and writing messages, so if the thing is difficult to use or random tags are displayed in posted messages or things are messed up (BTW wrong BBCode => wrong XHTML => unvalid page? just wondering), he'll notice it.

I was thinking about two things (three, including the already mentioned prompt-for-parameters :roll: ):
- "smarter" buttons which look at the context to know what they are supposed to do (add tags? remove tags? switch from bold to non-bold?);
- a syntax check when the message is sent (since the smartest button can't help users from typing something awful).
I don't know how complex this is, that's why I'll have to meditate a little; but it's all about adding a few JS lines, once done it's done and if modifies are required no great troubles in doing them ( :?: ).
I also don't know what should the checker do, beyond saying "You're an idiot, go and study BBCode before ever trying to post here"...
Also notice that I really don't want the program to be able to find/fix everything, but if it could handle the most common and foreseeable uses and abuses I think it would be good.

I confirm that also with IE6 the cursor is placed in the wrong position, I draw it:
[b]|[/b] <= 1st insertion: OK
[i][|/i] <= 2nd insertion: 1 character on the left
[u][/|u] <= 3rd insertion: 2 characters on the left
[code][/c|ode] <= 4th insertion: 3 characters on the left
and so on.
It depends on the physical order not chronological one, meaning that if I now add another tag before the first one, the cursor is rightly placed.

PS: as description of the list button, you should write something like "[list]header[*]first item[*]second item[*]etc.[/list]", so it's clear you have to use the * button; also, you could specify what kind of parameter is expected from the [list=] tag.

User avatar
dhn
Registered User
Posts: 1518
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2001 8:10 am
Location: Around the corner
Contact:

Re: Tell me, are these bugs or known issues?...

Post by dhn »

[quote="Nicholas the Italian"]
I confirm that also with IE6 the cursor is placed in the wrong position, I draw it:
| <= 1st insertion: OK
[|/i] <= 2nd insertion: 1 character on the left
[/|u] <= 3rd insertion: 2 characters on the left

Code: Select all

[/c|ode]  <= 4th insertion: 3 characters on the left
and so on.
[/quote]   
Please refresh your browser cache. A shift-reload should do it.

User avatar
Nicholas the Italian
Registered User
Posts: 659
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 11:19 pm
Location: 46°8' N, 12°13' E
Contact:

Re: Tell me, are these bugs or known issues?...

Post by Nicholas the Italian »

Closed the browser => Reopened it => Cleared browser cache => Returned here => Reloaded => Still broken.
But to be more precise, it depends on the line the tags are inserted:
1st line => OK
2nd line => 1 character out
...
nth line => n-1 characters out
whichever the number of tags inserted above.
Different codifications of carriage return? :?
Or should I try to format and reinstall? :mrgreen:

User avatar
dhn
Registered User
Posts: 1518
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2001 8:10 am
Location: Around the corner
Contact:

Re: Tell me, are these bugs or known issues?...

Post by dhn »

Nicholas the Italian wrote: Closed the browser => Reopened it => Cleared browser cache => Returned here => Reloaded => Still broken.
But to be more precise, it depends on the line the tags are inserted:
1st line => OK
2nd line => 1 character out
...
nth line => n-1 characters out
whichever the number of tags inserted above.
Different codifications of carriage return? :?
Or should I try to format and reinstall? :mrgreen:

Ok, seeing the problem, looking into it.

User avatar
dhn
Registered User
Posts: 1518
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2001 8:10 am
Location: Around the corner
Contact:

Re: Tell me, are these bugs or known issues?...

Post by dhn »

Should be fixed now for IE.

User avatar
Nicholas the Italian
Registered User
Posts: 659
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 11:19 pm
Location: 46°8' N, 12°13' E
Contact:

Re: Tell me, are these bugs or known issues?...

Post by Nicholas the Italian »

;) (we need an emoticon with thumb up...)

I noticed that "sometimes" (still have not figured out why), when I select a text and tag it, the selection "disappears"; i mean, the text is still selected (in fact if I press a key it is overwritten), but neither the selection or the cursor are displayed... probably a browser issue, but curious. Especially when the selected text starts and ends with tags. With Firefox instead the text is no more selected, and the cursor is placed right after.
Also, I found out that when text is selected and you insert a smilie, it gets inserted before the text by Firefox and after the text by IE. Are those differences intentional?

User avatar
dhn
Registered User
Posts: 1518
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2001 8:10 am
Location: Around the corner
Contact:

Re: Tell me, are these bugs or known issues?...

Post by dhn »

Nicholas the Italian wrote: I noticed that "sometimes" (still have not figured out why), when I select a text and tag it, the selection "disappears"; i mean, the text is still selected (in fact if I press a key it is overwritten), but neither the selection or the cursor are displayed... probably a browser issue, but curious.

The selection "disappears" when you selected the text with holding your mouse button down. Double or triple clicking a word shows the selection properly, so does selecting a range via shift+arrow keys. Seems to be an IE bug, I have no other explanation why it should handle those differently. Nothing I can do about it.
Nicholas the Italian wrote: With Firefox instead the text is no more selected, and the cursor is placed right after.

I could do that with IE, but I would have to use the same function I introduced to get non-selection BBCode input properly working. And that is slow, as it parses through the text-area character by character to count it and get the position.

There is no proper way to tell IE "Please return me your current cursor position and I will tell you where you have to move now". That is why it took so long to get the center positioning working.
Nicholas the Italian wrote: Also, I found out that when text is selected and you insert a smilie, it gets inserted before the text by Firefox and after the text by IE. Are those differences intentional?

Same issue. IE just doesn't offer proper textarea controls. I could get Firefox easily to insert the smiley the same way IE does, but it is not worth it IMO.

Post Reply