Where to get phpbb3?

Discussion of general topics related to the new version and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Forum rules
Discussion of general topics related to the new release and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
ForumHalo.com
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 11:45 pm

Re: Where to get phpbb3?

Post by ForumHalo.com »

Thanks people very helpful :D
User avatar
Computer Geek
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 7:15 am

Re: Where to get phpbb3?

Post by Computer Geek »

It would not matter... whichever one you can download.
I opt for the smallest.

Then just unpack in your WAMP htdocs directory.
Then delete the zip file, and point your browser to http://localhost/phpBB2" target="_blank
or http://localhost:8888/phpBB2" target="_blank depending on your WAMP settings.
Uchiha Nick
Registered User
Posts: 397
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 6:21 am
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Where to get phpbb3?

Post by Uchiha Nick »

read my post on the previous page :wink:
Image
Athy
Registered User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 4:09 pm
Location: Lancashire, England

Re: Where to get phpbb3?

Post by Athy »

Uchiha Nick wrote:
now, once we're there.. you will need to create a database. through Wamp you can go to http://localhost/phpmyadmin" target="_blank . note that you need that link to go to any file on your localhost. http://localhost/" target="_blank

now, create a database, and then run the phpBB install.


Just a question on this. I've gone to phpMYadmin, created the database, called it "bb1", it's created. I go on the install page. I've got as far as the "Database Settings" tab, so which database type do i choose?? I just select the default "MySQL 4.1.x/5.1.x (MySQLi)". I put the database name as "bb1" just like i created it, i leave username and password fields blank because i got no prompt for these when i created the database, i click to go to the next step, and it tells me some error about access denied for ODBC @ localhost.

I thought i'd ask here as you guys are talking about it. I'm probably missing something obvious, i hope you can point it out to me!
harmlessgoat22
Posts: 108
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 12:25 am

Re: Where to get phpbb3?

Post by harmlessgoat22 »

i leave username and password fields blank because i got no prompt for these when i created the database

Took me a while too...go to the left frame, the one on the left (yep, that's it) and select the name of your database on the dropdown menu. After awhile it should load the page in the right frame, and look at the tabs at the top of the page. One says "Privelages." Click on it. It should say the name of the user on the far right of the table on the next page. It SHOULD be called root, or that was the default for me. It also has NO password.

So your install thing would go like this...

Database type: MySQL 4.3x/5. (or something like that...)
Database port: (leave empty)
Database name: bb1
Database Username: root
Database Password: (leave empty)

And I don't think there are any more questions on that page.

I hope that works for you. It works for me :D
Have fun with phpbb3
alphaPORTAL
phpBB3 Integration MOD:
Create Pages in phpBB3
Portal
Many Modules including Login, Welcome, Search, Top Posters, Online Now, Menu, Offsite Links, and more
Athy
Registered User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 4:09 pm
Location: Lancashire, England

Re: Where to get phpbb3?

Post by Athy »

I knew it would be something simple! Thanks a lot for your help. Unbelievable how things like that can make you spend hours trying to figure out. :roll: :P
harmlessgoat22
Posts: 108
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 12:25 am

Re: Where to get phpbb3?

Post by harmlessgoat22 »

Yah, I've had some things like that too. Are you familiar with cpanel? It is software that many webhosting companies use. Anyways, I was trying to upload some stuff using the file manager. It took me THREE HOURS to figure out that you had to click the little image next to the folder name to go into that folder. That was the most embarrasing thing ever :oops: !
alphaPORTAL
phpBB3 Integration MOD:
Create Pages in phpBB3
Portal
Many Modules including Login, Welcome, Search, Top Posters, Online Now, Menu, Offsite Links, and more
Post Reply