Using Olympus now

Discussion of general topics related to the new version and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Forum rules
Discussion of general topics related to the new release and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
CalonDdraig
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 5:27 pm

Using Olympus now

Post by CalonDdraig » Mon Jul 31, 2006 5:31 pm

Hello Guys,

Thanks for putting in all the hard work on phpBB3 - I for one really appriciate it and can't praise you enough for your work on this!

I do have one small question though... If I start using Olympus now, will I be able to upgrade relatively easily to the acctual RC and then release versions?

My point being that I'm quite desperate to get using Olympus - I have a board running on 2x that is being destroyed by spam despite me using visual confirmation, mods, all that s*** so I was thinking of moving to 3x like NOW:s

Anyway hope someone has some time to respond to my post - Thanks!

Dafydd

Rotsblok
Registered User
Posts: 325
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:21 pm
Location: x= y+1

Re: Using Olympus now

Post by Rotsblok » Mon Jul 31, 2006 5:33 pm

CalonDdraig wrote: I do have one small question though... If I start using Olympus now, will I be able to upgrade relatively easily to the acctual RC and then release versions?

Probs not. Try reading the search engine and the beta release story m8
ø = 1.618033988749895...
Everything has ø in it

code reader
Registered User
Posts: 653
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 3:01 pm

Re: Using Olympus now

Post by code reader » Mon Jul 31, 2006 6:25 pm

CalonDdraig wrote: I do have one small question though... If I start using Olympus now, will I be able to upgrade relatively easily to the acctual RC and then release versions?


regardles of the wisdom (or lack thereof) of running an early beta software on a live site, the answer to your question depends on one word: "relatively": relative to what?
if you are proficient in sql, my guess is that it should be quite possible, even if somewhat tedious, to manually manage the database changes (in structure AND content!) from beta-version to beta version and eventually to the release candidate.
however, it is (almost) guaranteed that an automated script to do these changes will NOT be supplied by the phpbb team.
once the RC version is released, they stated that they do plan on providing the upgrade scripts from one stage to the next.

asmith3006
Registered User
Posts: 136
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 5:09 pm

Re: Using Olympus now

Post by asmith3006 » Mon Jul 31, 2006 7:15 pm

This has been done to a death. Do a search, read some other threads, find out before posting.

User avatar
Highway of Life
Registered User
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 10:18 pm
Location: I'd love to change the World, but they won't give me the Source Code
Contact:

Re: Using Olympus now

Post by Highway of Life » Mon Jul 31, 2006 7:59 pm

Unfortunately, the simple, long and short of it is: no, it won't be easy.

But how well you know SQL is what it would depend on. Still... phpBB has made it very clear, you won't get any support for running a pre-release Olympus in a live enviorment, so you would be on your own if you choose to do so.

Despite that, some of us just can't stand to post on phpBB2 anymore... ;)
Image

CalonDdraig
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 31, 2006 5:27 pm

Re: Using Olympus now

Post by CalonDdraig » Mon Jul 31, 2006 8:04 pm

Despite that, some of us just can't stand to post on phpBB2 anymore...


I know what you mean more than anything - especially as the site I moderat/part admin on has started to lose acctivity on the forums - it's a bit soul destroying really.

I think I'll try phpBB3 beta - I've got 4 years knowledge of SQL - I wouldn't call it "strong" but I would call it "useful" so I'll probably move over the existing data and try 3.0Beta - certainly on a test basis!

Thanks for the help and advice there!

Calon

User avatar
Highway of Life
Registered User
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 10:18 pm
Location: I'd love to change the World, but they won't give me the Source Code
Contact:

Re: Using Olympus now

Post by Highway of Life » Mon Jul 31, 2006 8:13 pm

Okay, and just so you know...

phpBB3 Beta1 can be downloaded here: http://www.phpbb.com/development/" target="_blank

Or if you prefer the more up-to-date CVS: http://area51.phpbb.com/cvs" target="_blank

BTW, I would recommend just getting used to Olympus, as you said, use it on a test basis... don't run it live, even if you have experience with MySQL, as doing the updates is... as someone pointed out... VERY tedious, even for an expert.
If you can hold off running it live until RC1, then you'll be much better off.

I think it'll keep you busy for a while anyways... it should take at least a couple of months to get used to all the features!
The permission settings are really extensive as well and will take you hours to learn unless you have worked with IPB.
Image

code reader
Registered User
Posts: 653
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 3:01 pm

Re: Using Olympus now

Post by code reader » Mon Jul 31, 2006 9:03 pm

CalonDdraig wrote: I think I'll try phpBB3 beta - I've got 4 years knowledge of SQL - I wouldn't call it "strong" but I would call it "useful" so I'll probably move over the existing data and try 3.0Beta - certainly on a test basis!

Thanks for the help and advice there!
Calon
you may want to check out http://www.adamspiers.org/computing/mysqldiff" target="_blank
this is a Perl tool that compares the structure of 2 databases, and prepares (and runs, if you ask nicely) a script to convert one to the other. this may alleviate some of the tetium out of the manual conversion when you climb up the beta steps.
one drawback - it only works with mysql. there may be similar tools for other databases.

d4rkst4r123
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2006 4:24 am

Re: Using Olympus now

Post by d4rkst4r123 » Tue Aug 01, 2006 2:21 am

Use the freakin search buttons, there are so many topic with this same question.

User avatar
Eelke
Registered User
Posts: 606
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2001 8:00 am
Location: Bussum, NL
Contact:

Re: Using Olympus now

Post by Eelke » Tue Aug 01, 2006 6:27 am

CalonDdraig wrote:
Despite that, some of us just can't stand to post on phpBB2 anymore...


I know what you mean more than anything - especially as the site I moderat/part admin on has started to lose acctivity on the forums - it's a bit soul destroying really.

You think that's because of the software you're using? I'd doubt it (sorry :() . There are many, many very active communities still running on phpBB 2. That's not to say that the new phpBB 3 won't be welcomed, but I also don't think phpBB 2 is so horrible that it would be driving away visitors that would otherwise stick around.
I think I'll try phpBB3 beta - I've got 4 years knowledge of SQL - I wouldn't call it "strong" but I would call it "useful" so I'll probably move over the existing data and try 3.0Beta - certainly on a test basis!

I suppose trying your hand on a conversion script to get your 2.0 data to 3.0 will be a good test to see if you're up to the challenge of doing the conversion necesarry from release to release (which, I imagine, would mostly be peanuts I've you've managed to convert from 2.0 to 3.0).

Post Reply