Community moderation

Discussion of general topics related to the new version and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
Forum rules
Discussion of general topics related to the new release and its place in the world. Don't discuss new features, report bugs, ask for support, et cetera. Don't use this to spam for other boards or attack those boards!
soundboy

Community moderation

Post by soundboy »

Hi.. I was discussing the future of my site and community with a developer that's helping me out. I've been using phpBB 2 for 3 years and was planning to redesign my whole site and make it more automatic and dynamic, and I was also planning on migrating to phpBB 3 once it's done.

Now, we started talking and the discussion resulted in a whole new way to look at how things have worked on my site and the community that has grown around it, and how their behavior is shaped largely by the way phpBB functions, and I'd like to share my thoughts here and read yours.

It all boils down to phpBB's rating and moderation systems, which are a traditional approach. Users have ratings according to the number of posts they've made, which is a flawed system because it leads to having a lot of trash posts, made by people who, for some strange undescribable reason, have an urge to just get to the highest rating possible in the lowest amount of time, thus polluting the forum with nonsense quick posts (times ten if you decide to install one of those "quick reply" thingies... those are evil I tell you!). So how do admins and moderators solve this? By moderating of course... deleting topics, warning people, banning people... becoming "cops" who will inevitably be the target of anger, rage, hard feelings, and yes.... flames. This can get to be a real problem, especially on larger boards.